Welcome back to another article in our series about new functionality in Teaming 2.1. This article will covers Teaming's new undelete and purging capabilities.
Adding the trash bin to Teaming is a feature that current Teaming users will really appreciate. The trash bin functions is similar to other applications so it should be very familiar and easy to use. The one difference is that it is dynamic, which will be explained further below. We've also added the ability to purge deleted items, but remember, once purged, its gone!
In Teaming, you access the Trash by clicking the Trash icon on the the far right of the manage bar, or the the Trash icon on the bottom of the sidebar.
When you open the Trash, you see a list of all deleted entries and folders from the folder you are viewing, and all other folders below it in the Teaming hierarchy (that's the dynamic part). The Trash also shows you when an item was deleted, who deleted the item, and where the item used to reside. When an item is in the Trash, you can view it, but you cannot make any changes. When a folder is in the Trash, all folder functionality is disabled.
Features in the Trash User Interface
The restore feature undeletes an item or folder and returns it to its previous location in Teaming . When you restore a folder, it restores only that folder, not the entries or sub-folders, which will continue to stay in the Trash until you either restore or purge them separately. However, if you restore an entry without restoring the folder, the folder is automatically restored with the entry.
Using the Purge or Purge All features in the trash results in removing the selected items from the trash; they are not recoverable.
Similar to many areas in Teaming, access rights play an important role in what you can and cannot do. You might have access to read an entry, but not rights to delete, restore, or purge folders or entries.
We expect you will enjoy this new feature. Its simple, its needed and you'll have it soon.
Stay tuned for our next three articles, which will inform you about changes for administrators and partners, and will cover the following topics:
- Workspace Import and Export: Easily move workspaces and information between Teaming systems.
- User Data Quota: Limit the amount of file storage assigned to each user.
- Extension Administration: For those who are extending the capabilities of Teaming.
Make sure to take a little time to check out the Teaming Library to learn more about Teaming 2.1 and Forms and Workflows. You can also view our Introductory Article about Teaming 2.1 to get a brief overview about what Teaming is, and what changes are going to be made with the upcoming release of Teaming 2.1.
Disclaimer: As with everything else at Cool Solutions, this content is definitely not supported by Novell (so don't even think of calling Support if you try something and it blows up).
It was contributed by a community member and is published "as is." It seems to have worked for at least one person, and might work for you. But please be sure to test, test, test before you do anything drastic with it.