A Forum reader recently asked:
"How can I be sure the space on my server is accurate? I am concerned there might be build up on the server will lots of other old deleted email not being removed."
And here's the response from Tim Heywood ...
When you delete a user, GW has this thought in the back of its head, "What if this user is needed after all?" As a result, the data is retained for 21 days before it is removed from disk. Even running the /forceclean option will not clear out the user of the data.
If you "really" want to kill off space used by a user,
1. Delete the contents of the mailbox first.
2. Empty the Trash.
3. Run the Reduce program.
4. Once the mail is all gone, then delete the user.
Disclaimer: As with everything else at Cool Solutions, this content is definitely not supported by Novell (so don't even think of calling Support if you try something and it blows up).
It was contributed by a community member and is published "as is." It seems to have worked for at least one person, and might work for you. But please be sure to test, test, test before you do anything drastic with it.