Novell Home

Workstation Registration in ZENworks 2.0

Novell Cool Solutions: Tip
By Santhi S

Digg This - Slashdot This

Posted: 13 Feb 2002
 

Award-winning
Tip

This tip was a finalist in the ZENworks Tip Contest in 1999. Santhi is a senior software engineer in Novell's India Development Center in Bangalore. To see all the winners, check out this article.

How to find out if you've registered a workstation properly

After you've run the registration program, your workstation entry, even if imported, might not show up in the Workstation Registration page of the container. This might be due to wrong registration. That is, the Workstation might be registered to some other tree and server.

Right-clicking the ?Novell Desktop Management' icon on the system tray provides NDS information. This information can be verified for the correctness of the tree and the workstation object DN. From this, it can be concluded whether the workstation is properly registered or not.

How to run the Workstation Registration program

  1. Right-click the ?Novell Desktop Management' icon and select Display schedule.
  2. Run Registration agent.

Through Application Explorer (NAL), the application object for workstation registration is created and imported at the time of ZEN installation. It can be run for registration.

It can be run manually by executing wsreg32.exe/wsreg16.exe for 32 /16 bit workstations respectively.

Things to consider

  • Always select the context/container for which workstation registration rights have been set up and then import the workstations that are registered under that container.
  • If policy settings are changed/deleted accidentally during the remote management session, it will be effective only for the next session. Let us assume that the console is remotely controlling a workstation. During the session, if the console user accidentally disables the remote control option for that particular workstation, then the current session with that workstation will not be affected. But if the console user wants to initiate a new remote control session with that workstation, it may not be possible.
  • If protocol setting is changed (say, from IP to IPX) during the remote management session, Remote Management agent has to be restarted. Otherwise, changes will not be reflected on the subsequent session.
  • During the remote management session, if the Display agent icon to users option in Workstation Remote control Policy settings is changed (i.e. enabled or disabled), then it will be effective only if the remote management agent is restarted. It will not be effective for the current session. That is, if the display option is enabled previously and during the session it is disabled, the agent icon will be visible on the system tray, until the agent is restarted.
  • Two consoles cannot initiate a remote control session for the same workstation at a time.
  • A single console can initiate more than one remote management session (Ping, file transfer, etc.) with more than one workstation at a time.
  • During Registration and importing, the server and tree where ZEN is loaded should be set as primary. Otherwise, that workstation will be registered to whichever tree and server is set as primary at that point in time.
  • In the remote control policy for workstation and user, the time interval for visible or audible signal can be set. If in the workstation policy, the value set is x seconds and in the user policy, the value set is y seconds, then the minimum of the two(z) will be effective. The user at the managed workstation will hear the audible signal every z seconds and will see the visible signal (name of the user controlling) every z seconds.
  • Even if the Permission required option is disabled in workstation policy settings, the user's permission is still required when a remote management session is restarted. This is because the Permission required option might be enabled in user policy settings. If this option is enabled in any one of these (Workstation policy settings or user policy settings), it will be effective, and will prompt users for permission.
  • All the remote management operations can be performed only if the remote management agent is running on that particular workstation.
  • If a user who has logged into the workstation wants to unregister from the tree, then he can run ?unreg32.exe / unreg16.exe' under sys:\public directory. The workstation has to be rebooted after running this exe.
  • When a workstation is being remotely controlled by one console, remote control operation of the same workstation by another console is not possible.
  • When a console remotely controls a workstation, any other console including the one that is controlling it cannot remotely view it.
  • When a console remotely controls a workstation, if a user who doesn't have remote control rights logs into that workstation, that remote control session will not be affected. But when remote control is invoked again for that workstation, it will not be possible to initiate the session. To initiate the session again, the user with remote control rights should login to that workstation.


Novell Cool Solutions (corporate web communities) are produced by WebWise Solutions. www.webwiseone.com

© 2014 Novell