Novell Home

The Truth About the "i" in Busy Search

Novell Cool Solutions: Tip
By Susan Salgy

Digg This - Slashdot This

Posted: 8 Feb 2001
 

Current version: GroupWise 5.5

Mike Z. (among others) wrote: "What does the "i" stand for when in a busy search?" Since this is such a useful feature, we thought we'd spend a little time with it. (We were impressed Mike knew it was an "i." Several people have thought it was an upside-down exclamation point, a most perplexing icon in this context.) Here's the deal:

The "i" is for info. When you see it next to someone's name in a busy search it means the person has granted you the right to see what they've got scheduled on their calendar. This is actually a pretty neat thing. If you are trying to schedule a time when a whole team can meet, and you see that one person has part of that time already booked, it's useful to be able to see what they've got planned for that time. If you believe your meeting is more important you can send them the schedule anyway, even though it conflicts, and let them decide which to attend.

It's also kind of cool if you are trying to physically track down someone on your team who's attending a meeting somewhere.

Bear in mind that just because there's an "i" there, that doesn't mean there is a conflict. The conflict is represented by a gray box. If there is a gray box blocking out the time you're searching (and the guy has granted you the rights), click the gray box and you'll be able to read the details of that appointment.

In this example, both Susan and Theresa have granted access to their appointments, so an "i" appears before their name. Kevin, preferring to have his whereabouts unknown, has not granted access, so his name is not tagged. Here we're trying to schedule Susan for an hour meeting beginning at 12:30. She has a gray box spanning some of that time block, and we can read below that she's accepted a lunch invitation that conflicts with our meeting. Since we never want to violate someone's inalienable right to lunch, we'll look for an open time later that afternoon when everyone is a bit sleepier, and thus less dangerous.

Note that Kevin's time is also blocked with a gray box, but since he hasn't granted the rights, when you click his gray box, no information will appear below. This allows people to know that Kevin is also unavailable during that time. But not what's he's doing.

If you want to grant this privilege to your friends and co-workers, just give them Read access to your appointments. Here's how:

To edit your Access List,

  1. Click Tools, Options.
  2. Double-click Security, click the Proxy Access tab.
  3. To add a user to the list, type the name in the Name box. When the full name appears, click Add User.
  4. Click a user in the Access List.
  5. Select the rights you want to give to the user (in this case, Read Appointments).
  6. Repeat Steps 4-5 to assign rights to each user in the Access List.
  7. To delete a user from the Access List, click the user, and click Remove User. (Sometimes people fall out of favor and you have to cut off their rights. It happens...)
  8. Click OK.

Go ahead, grant your friends some rights today. It's the gift that keeps on giving.


Novell Cool Solutions (corporate web communities) are produced by WebWise Solutions. www.webwiseone.com

© 2014 Novell