4.5 Blocking Specific Users and Devices after Initial Synchronization

As you monitor your Synchronizer system, you might notice that a device or user starts to consume an inappropriately large amount of system resources on your Synchronizer server. This can impact synchronization performance for all Synchronizer users. If this occurs, you can prevent the problem device or user from connecting to the Synchronizer system while you resolve the problem.

  1. In Synchronizer Web Admin, click Monitor icon (Monitoring) in the Actions column for the Mobility Connector to display the Connector Monitoring Information page.

    Connector Monitoring page
  2. In the line for the mobile device, click Block Device icon (Block Device) in the Device column.

    Device Options

    If you click Block User icon (Block User) in the Action column, it blocks all devices for the user. This is convenient when the user has multiple mobile devices, or when the user’s mobile device has multiple device IDs.

    You receive the following prompt:

    Block this device from communicating with the Mobility Connector?
  3. Click Block Device to block the device so that it can no longer connect to your Synchronizer system.

    You receive the following confirmation:

    The device "device_id" is now blocked.
  4. Click OK.

    At this point, Normal turns to Blocked for the device ID, and Block Device icon (Block Device) turns to Unblock Device icon (Unblock Device).

  5. Resolve the problem with the mobile device.

  6. To unblock the device so that it can connect to your Synchronizer system again, click Unblock Device icon (Unblock Device).

    You receive the following prompt:

    Allow this device to communicate with the Mobility Connector?
  7. Click Unblock Device.

    You receive the following confirmation:

    The device "device_id" is now unblocked.
  8. Click OK.

    The user can again connect to the Synchronizer system.