To allow users to share files that are located in a Net Folder, you as the Filr administrator must give users the proper share rights when setting up the net folder or when modifying the Net Folder’s configuration. Ensure that:
Users who you want to be allowed to view files (and by extension, receive shared items) for files in the Net Folder have been given the Section 3.0, Setting Up Sharing.right. For information about how to give users this right, see
Users who you want to be allowed to share files that are located in the Net Folder have been given one of the appropriate Share rights (located on the Section 5.4, Creating and Managing Net Folders and Section 5.7, Modifying Net Folder Connections.tab when creating or modifying a Net Folder), as described in
When you create a Net Folder, you specify which users you want to be allowed to access files on the Net Folder. Users who already have file system rights to files have the same rights to these files in Filr. Users who do not have file system rights to files are not able to see the files and folders unless items have been shared with them. It is up to you as the Filr administrator whether users with native rights are allowed to share these files with others.
IMPORTANT:If a user moves or renames a file directly from the file server (instead of using a Filr client to do the move or rename), any shares that are associated with that file in Filr are removed. This means that users who gained access to a file via a share in Filr no longer have access to the file if the file was moved or renamed from the file server. Additionally, the file is not displayed in users’ Shared by Me and Shared with Me views.
If this situation occurs, files must be re-shared in Filr.