If you want to archive the conversations of all Messenger users, select Editing the Default User Policy. After you edit the default policy, you must stop and then start the Messenger agents in order to put the modified policy into effect throughout your Messenger system. Thereafter, the next time users log in to the Messenger system, their conversations are archived.on the General page of the Default Policy object, as described in
If you want to archive the conversations of some users but not others, you must create a policy that lists the users whose conversations you want to archive, as described in Creating a User Policy. You do not need to stop and then start the Messenger agents after creating the new policy. The next time the users governed by the policy log in to the Messenger system, their conversations are archived.
When users' conversations are being archived, the Novell Messenger client displays a page icon notifying users that their conversations are being logged into the archive.