4.1 Migrating Resources

You can migrate resources to different servers in your cluster without waiting for a failure to occur. You might want to migrate resources to lessen the load on a specific server, to free up a server so it can be brought down for scheduled maintenance, or to increase the performance of the resource or application by putting it on a faster machine.

Migrating resources allows you to balance the load and evenly distribute applications among the servers in your cluster.

Using iManager

  1. In the left column of the main iManager page, locate Clusters, then click the Cluster Manager link.

  2. Enter the cluster name or browse and select it, check the box next to the resource you want to migrate, then click Migrate.

    A page appears, displaying a list of possible servers that you can migrate this resource to.

  3. Select a server from the list to migrate the resource to, then click OK to migrate the resource to the selected server.

Using ConsoleOne

  1. Browse and select the Cluster object that contains the resource you want to migrate.

    Resources must be in a running state to be migrated.

  2. Ensure that the right half of ConsoleOne® displays the Cluster State View by selecting View > Cluster State from the menu at the top of the screen.

  3. From the Cluster Resource List, select the resource you want to migrate.

    The Cluster Resource Manager screen appears, displaying the server the selected resource is currently running on and a list of possible servers that you can migrate resources to.

  4. Select a server from the list, then click Migrate to move the resource to the selected server.

Using Novell Remote Manager

  1. In the left column under the Clustering section, click Cluster Management.

  2. Select the cluster resource you want to migrate.

  3. Select a server from the list, then click Migrate to move the resource to the selected server.

If you select a resource and click Offline, the resource will be unloaded from the server. It will not load on any other servers in the cluster and will remain unloaded until you load it again. This option is useful for editing resources because resources can't be edited while loaded or running on a server.