If you delete a volume, NSS removes it from the pool. However, during a specified amount of time, called the Volume Purge Delay time, you can review and restore the volumes you have deleted. After the purge delay time elapses, NSS automatically removes volumes from the system and you can no longer access them. You can also manually purge any volumes you have deleted.
During the Purge Delay time (by default, four days after a volume is deleted), you can manually purge deleted volumes, view the volume contents, transfer files from the deleted volume to other volumes, or salvage the entire volume, if desired.
You can also change the Purge Delay time to extend or reduce the time for the automatic purging cycle. The Purge Delay time command can be changed by adding a line in the autoexec.ncf file. The default value for the Purge Delay is 345600 seconds, which is four days. Specify the time in seconds. See Section 19.2, Configuring Salvage for the NSS Volume.
The Deleted Volumes option on the Pools page opens a separate Deleted Volumes page where you can purge or salvage the deleted volumes for the pool. This option is only available if the selected pool has deleted volumes on it.
WARNING:If you delete an entire pool, all the volumes are deleted with it. You cannot restore a deleted pool or any deleted volumes in it.
To manage the deleted volumes in a pool:
In iManager, click.
For instructions, see Section 3.1.6, Accessing Roles and Tasks in iManager.
Select a server to manage.
For instructions, see Section 3.1.7, Selecting a Server to Manage.
A list of pools appears in thelist.
Select the pool that you want to manage.
Wait for the page to refresh and display the details. The Deleted Volumes button is active only when there are deleted volumes in that list.
If the button is available, click.
This opens the Deleted Volumes page.
Select a volume from thelist.
The browser refreshes to display details in thearea.
Pool: The pool name.
Volume Was Deleted: The time stamp when the volume was deleted.
Scheduled Purge Time: The time that the Purge Delay expires for this deleted volume and the purging process is scheduled to begin.
Current Deletion State: The deleted volume can be salvageable, purging, or paused.
Select one or more volumes, then perform one or more of these actions:
Purge: Immediately begins the process of purging the selected volumes and their contents.
Pause Purge/Restart Purge:stops the volume purging process for selected volumes. continues purging the selected volumes.
Salvage: Begins the restore process for deleted volumes you selected.
If you salvage a volume, you need to assign a new name to that volume. A wizard opens to allow you to name the salvaged volume.
The volume salvage process can slow the server response time, so you might want to do this when there is less server activity.
After you start the salvage process, thebutton changes to Click to pause the salvage process temporarily; click again to resume.
Close: Closes thepage.