20.13 Moving Volumes

When you move a volume, DFS moves the volume’s file structure, data, and user rights information from the original location to a new volume in the network.

IMPORTANT:You cannot move the sys: volume.

20.13.1 Prerequisites

  • The source data resides on an NSS volume on a NetWare 6.5 or later server.

  • The original and destination servers are in the same DFS management context.

  • The VLDB services are running in the DFS management context.

  • The destination server is a NetWare 6.5 or later server, or it is an OES Linux server that has space available on a disk that is managed by EVMS.

  • Deleted files are not relocated, so make sure to recover any deleted files that you want to keep before you begin.

20.13.2 Procedure

  1. Make sure you meet the Section 20.2, Prerequisites and Guidelines for DFS.

  2. You must create at least one DFS Management Context at an O or OU class level in the Novell eDirectory tree. Both the original volume location and the new volume location must be in the same DFS Management Context. You must create at least one Volume Location Database (VLDB) server in this management context.

    For information, see Section 20.3, Creating a DFS Management Context.

  3. (Optional) If you plan to temporarily retain the deleted original volume in the salvage area after a successful volume move, verify that your server’s Purge Delay setting meets your needs. The default Purge Delay setting is 4 days (345600 seconds), but the actual setting might differ. If desired, modify the Purge Delay setting.

    At the server console, enter

    nss /logicalVolumePurgeDelay=value
    

    where value is the number of seconds until a deleted volume is purged from the salvage area. For information, see Section 19.2, Configuring Salvage for the NSS Volume.

  4. Make sure users and applications are not accessing files on the volume throughout the move or split process.

  5. In iManager, click Storage>Volumes.

    For instructions, see Section 3.1.6, Accessing Roles and Tasks in iManager.

  6. Select a server to manage.

    For instructions, see Section 3.1.7, Selecting a Server to Manage.

  7. From the Volumes list, select the volume that you want to move.

  8. From the Volumes list, select the volume, then click Move to open the Move Volume dialog box.

    Sample Move Volume Wizard
  9. Specify the following parameters, then click Next.

    • New Location: Specify the eDirectory common name of the server where you want to move the selected volume.

    • Schedule: Select Start Now to begin the move immediately, or specify the date and time you want to schedule the move.

      Make sure that the volume is active at the time that the move is to begin.

    • Purge Immediately: Select Purge Immediately to purge the original volume’s deleted data from the server’s salvage area immediately following the successful completion of a volume move job.

      If Purge Immediately is disabled (deselected), DFS delays the purge of the volume’s deleted data according to the server’s Purge Delay setting and the normal purge process.

      You can manually purge or restore the original volume’s deleted data at any time during the purge delay period, using the normal method of purging deleted volumes. For information, see Section 19.3, Viewing, Salvaging, or Purging Deleted NSS Volumes in a Pool.

  10. Specify a unique name for the new volume.

    Typically, the new volume’s name is different from the original volume’s name. The new volume’s name must meet the uniqueness requirements in the new location and conform to volume naming conventions. For guidelines about naming volumes, see Section 4.5, Naming NSS Storage Objects. It is possible, though not necessarily advisable, to use the same name under some conditions, such as when the original location and the new location are different servers.

    IMPORTANT:If the name you provide is not unique, you receive an error message. You must click Cancel to back out of the dialog box, then begin the move process again.

  11. Specify the pool on the new location where you want the new volume to reside, specify the volume quota, then click Next.

    Only pools that have free space appear in the list. You can select an existing pool from the list or create a new pool. If you create a new pool, the dialog box guides you through steps similar to the process for creating a new pool. For instructions, see Section 11.1, Creating a Pool.

    If no pools are listed, there is no space available to create a volume in the new location. Cancel the dialog box, add more devices to the server and expand the desired pool, or free up space by deleting existing pools, then return to the Volume Management page to begin the move process from the beginning.

  12. Specify the attributes for the new volume you are creating, based on the volume attributes of the original volume.

    The dialog box displays the volume attributes for the original volume. Modifiable attribute settings can differ on the new volume. However, settings, such as Compression, that cannot be changed after they are set for a volume must be the same on the original volume and the new volume.

  13. Click Finish.

    The move can take a few minutes to several hours, depending on how much data needs to be moved.

  14. To view the job’s status or to pause and resume the job, click Volume Job Control.

    For information, see Section 20.15, Managing Move or Split Volume Jobs.

  15. (Optional) After the job completes successfully, if you disabled the Purge Volume Immediately option, you can manually purge or restore the original volume’s deleted data at any time during the purge delay period, using the normal method of purging deleted volumes.

    For information, see Section 19.3, Viewing, Salvaging, or Purging Deleted NSS Volumes in a Pool.

  16. Manually update script files, configuration files, or mappings by modifying the location of the original volume to the location of the new volume.