13.2 Saving a Group

You can save the configuration of the group so you can access this page again without completing the configuration options. You can save a group to the local server or associate with an eDirectory object and save it.

13.2.1 Saving the Group to the Local Server

  1. While viewing the group you just created or edited, right-click the customized Group page, then click Save Group.

  2. In the Group Name field, specify a name for the group or select a group name that you want to replace from the group list.

    We recommend using a name that represents the group you built.

  3. Click Save Group.

    This saves the group to a file with that name in the /opt/novell/nrm/NRMGroups directory.

13.2.2 Saving the Group and Associating It with an eDirectory Object

You can save a group and associate it with a User or Group eDirectory object. This is helpful when you want to access the configuration and you don’t want to save the configuration to a specific server (for example, if the server is down but you want it to be part of the operation or if you want to run the operation while one of the servers is not functioning properly).

Only one group can be associated to an object.

  1. While viewing the group you just created or edited, right-click the customized Group page, then click Save Group.

  2. In the Make This the Group Monitor for This Object field, specify a User or Group object that you want to associate this group with.

    You can browse to the user or group by clicking the Browse link icon or by typing the full content name of the object.

  3. Click Save Group.