10.13 Deleting a Volume Entry from the VLDB

DFS automatically deletes a volume entry from the VLDB when the last replica site for a DFS management context is deleted, when you delete an NSS volume, and during a VLDB repair process. Entries are not automatically deleted when you remove a server with existing volumes from a container to a location outside the current DFS management context or when you delete an NCP volume. To delete the volume entries, you typically run the vldb repair command, which walks the tree and discovers the current set of volumes in the management context.

For OES 11 SP2 replica sites, you can optionally delete an entry for a volume by using the vldb delete command instead. This might be faster than running the vldb repair command, particularly when you have a large tree but only a few entries that need to be modified. The delete operation only removes the entry from the database. It does modify or delete the DFS GUID attribute for the volume’s Volume object in eDirectory. It does not delete the Volume object from eDirectory.

IMPORTANT:Deleting the volume entry from the VLDB disables any junction resolution for junctions that target this volume.

If you later run a VLDB repair in the DFS management context, the repair discovers all volumes with Volume objects in eDirectory that are in the management context. It is possible for deleted entries to be added back to the VLDB.

  1. On the OES 11 SP2 replica site, open a terminal console, then log in as the root user.

  2. At the terminal console prompt, view the current list of VLDB volume entries by entering

    vldb list
    

    For each volume entry, the server name, volume name, and DFS GUID are displayed.

  3. In the list of VLDB volume entries, locate the volume entry that you want to delete and write down the volume’s DFS GUID as it appears in the list.

  4. Delete the entry for the volume from the in-memory VLDB by entering

    vldb delete vol_dfsGUID
    

    Replace vol_dfsGUID with the DFS GUID of the volume as it appears in the report results of the vldb list command. For example, enter (all on the same line, of course)

    vldb delete 0x6affb60fdc56dc01800174685ff0d412
    

    The operation is performed on the in-memory VLDB, then is synchronized to the VLDB on the disk.

    If you have a second VLDB replica site, the changes you make to the VLDB database on the disk are automatically synchronized to the second site. The second replica can be on a Linux or NetWare server.