The major change when you update from Novell® Teaming 1.0 to Novell Teaming 2.0 is that the Liferay portal is no longer used by your Teaming site. The Teaming Installation program backs up your Teaming data and disconnects your Teaming site from the Liferay software that was installed as part of Teaming 1.0. No Teaming data is lost in this process.
During the update from Teaming 1.0 to Teaming 2.0, the following aspects of your Teaming site are modified:
The Teaming software is updated from version 1.0 to 2.0.
The Teaming database is updated with a new database structure to support the new features in 2.0. All teams, groups, roles, workspaces, and folders are preserved throughout the update process.
The Lucene Index Server is updated for improved functionality.
Teaming no longer uses an external e-mail system for inbound message delivery. Teaming 2.0 includes an internal SMTP mail host for incoming messages. This implementation allows for the easy creation of simple URLs to facilitate posting to the Teaming site from e-mail clients.
The Liferay portal is eliminated from your Teaming installation. The Liferay data is backed up, so if you have made customizations to Liferay, they remain intact, but the Liferay portal is not left in a usable state after the Teaming files are removed from it. If you want to continue to use Liferay, you must set up a new, independent installation of Liferay and transfer any customizations that you have made to the Teaming version into the new, independent version. To obtain the latest version of Liferay, see Liferay Portal.