2.6 Purging Deleted Files

The Purge utility lets you purge deleted files and directories from Novell file systems. Deleted files are purged from a volume when one of the following events occurs:

WARNING:The Purge utility permanently removes deleted files from the selected directory. Purged files cannot be recovered with the Salvage utility.

IMPORTANT:You cannot purge deleted files or directories from an OES for Linux Reiser volume.

  1. Right-click Novell Client tray application icon, then click Novell Utilities > Purge.

  2. Select the folder where the files you want to purge are located, then click OK.

  3. Select the files you want to purge

    Purge Novell Directory Files Dialog Box
  4. Click the appropriate purge option.

    • Click Purge File to purge only the currently selected item(s) from the current directory level for which the Purge Files dialog was invoked.

    • Click Purge All to purge all the deleted file items and deleted directory items in the current directory level for which the Purge Files dialog was invoked.

    • Click Purge Subdirectories to purge all the deleted file items and deleted directory items in the current directory level, and then recurse into each subdirectory and purge all the deleted file items and deleted directory items in them too, starting at the current directory level for which the Purge Files dialog was invoked.

  5. Click Close.