If you retire a device, the device is removed from your ZENworks Management Zone. Retiring a device is different from deleting a device. When you retire a device, its GUID is retained (as opposed to when you delete a device, which also deletes its GUID). As a result, all inventory information is retained and is assessable but all assignments (folder, configuration settings, and so forth) are removed. If you unretire the device in the future, its assignments are restored. You can retire both managed and inventoried devices.