2.6 Overriding Preboot Services Defaults

You can determine which Novell Preboot Services Menu displays a configuration to use and whether the menu should be displayed on a device when it boots. By default, the Management Zone configuration applies to all folders and devices. You can override this at the folder or device level.

For more information on the Novell Preboot Services Menu options, see Section 1.3.2, Novell Preboot Services Menu.

The menu can be customized by editing the pxemenu.txt file. For more information, see Section 2.4.4, Editing the Novell Preboot Services Menu.

To override the default configuration at the folder or device level:

  1. In ZENworks Control Center, click the Devices in the left pane to display the Devices panel in the Managed tab.

  2. Select one of the following in the Name column:

    • The Details option next to the Servers or Workstations folder

    • The Servers folder, then a server contained in the folder

    • The Workstations folder, then a workstation contained in the folder

  3. On the page that is displayed, click the Settings tab to display the Settings page options.

  4. Click Preboot Services to display the Preboot Services configuration page:

    Imaging Menu Options at Device Settings level

    If you have not previously configured this folder or device, the following is displayed:

    Current: (System) (Override settings)

    and the Preboot Menu Options section is disabled for editing. The above text varies depending on whether you are at the folder or device level.

  5. To configure the settings for the folder or device, click Override.

    The following is displayed:

    Current: /Devices/Servers
    Revert to settings from: (System)

    and the Preboot Menu Options section is enabled for editing. The above text varies depending on whether you are at the folder or device level.

  6. Select which option to use:

    • Always Show Imaging Menu

    • Never Show Imaging Menu

    • Show Imaging Menu if CTRL+ALT is Pressed

    PXE must be enabled on the device for the menu to be displayed.

  7. Click Apply or OK.

    OK: Enables the change and exits the page.

    Apply: Enables the change and retains focus on the page, so you can click Revert to temporarily disable the configuration change.

  8. To temporarily disable the change, click Revert and the Management Zone settings for the menu remain in effect.