The following sections provide information and instructions to help you delete or retire devices from your ZENworks system.
If you delete a server or workstation device, the selected device is removed from your ZENworks system.
Retiring a device is different from deleting a device. When you retire a device, its GUID is retained (as opposed to when you delete a device, which also deletes its GUID). As a result of retiring a device, all inventory information is retained and is assessable but all policy and bundle assignments are removed. A retired device is in a holding state until you unretire or delete the device. If you unretire the device in the future, its assignments are restored. You can retire both managed and inventoried devices.