The ZENworks Adaptive Agent uses modules to perform the following functions on managed devices:
Endpoint Security Management
If you are viewing the properties of a Windows 2000 device, the User Management options are disabled because user management is not supported for Windows 2000. If you are viewing the properties of the Management Zone or a folder, user management settings are ignored for Windows 2000 devices.
By default, all modules are installed on a device. However, you can uninstall, disable, or enable any of the modules except Inventory Management.
NOTE:You can use ZENworks 10 Asset Management with ZENworks 7 Desktop Management installed in your environment.
If you enable any Agent feature besides Asset Management, and you are running ZENworks 7 Desktop Management in your environment, you are prompted that the ZENworks 7 Desktop Management Agent will be uninstalled.
Ensure that you enable only the Asset Management feature if you want to use ZENworks 10 Asset Management and you want to continue using ZENworks 7 Desktop Management in your environment.
Depending on many factors, when you uninstall or disable a module, the setting might not take effect immediately. If you uninstall or disable a module while it is performing a task, the module is not uninstalled or disabled until the task is complete. For example, if you disable the Bundle Management module while a bundle is being applied to the device, the module is disabled after the bundle is applied. Also, if a device is running a Dynamic Local User (DLU) policy, the Policy Management module cannot be disabled or uninstalled until the user logs out.
NOTE:If you disable the Bundle Management module, services that are a part of the External Services policy will not flow down to the agent.
You can install, uninstall, enable, or disable the modules at three levels:
Management Zone: The setting applies to all devices in the Management Zone.
Device Folder: The setting applies to all devices contained within the folder or its subfolders. Overrides the Management Zone setting.
Device: The setting applies only to the device for which it is configured. Overrides the settings established at the Management Zone and folder levels.
To modify a module’s state:
(Conditional) If you are configuring the ZENworks Agent settings on a device folder or a device, click.
To install a module, select thecheck box.
To uninstall a module, deselect thecheck box.
By default, thecheck boxes for all modules are selected, meaning that all modules are installed on devices when they register to your ZENworks Management Zone. If you deselect a module’s check box, that module is uninstalled from the device the next time it refreshes.
To enable an installed module, click thebutton.
To disable an installed module, click thebutton.
By default, theoption for all installed modules is selected, meaning that all modules are enabled on devices. Disabling a module does not cause that module to be uninstalled from currently managed devices. The module remains installed on the device, but it is disabled.
Specify the reboot behavior if a reboot is required.
This option applies only when installing or uninstalling a module. In some cases, Windows Installer might require a reboot of the device when installing or uninstalling the module. If a reboot is required during install, the module does not function until the reboot occurs. If a reboot is required during uninstall, the module’s files are not completely removed until a reboot occurs, but the module stops functioning.
: The user is prompted to reboot the device. The user can reboot immediately or wait until later.
: No reboot occurs. The user must initiate a reboot.
: The device is automatically rebooted. The user is notified that the device will reboot in 5 minutes.
Clickto save the changes.
For trademark and copyright information, see Legal Notices.