14.5 Troubleshooting

The following sections provide solutions to the issues you might encounter during content replication.

After an upgrade, the size of the content repository increases

Source: ZENworks 11 SP2
Explanation: When you upgrade the Primary Servers, the size of the content repository increases to almost double its previous size, even though there are no new bundles and no modifications have been made to any of the content in the Zone.
Possible Cause: Files that have been deleted from the database still exist in the content repository.
Action: Perform the following steps:

IMPORTANT:You cannot retrieve content after you run the Delete command. We strongly recommend that you run the novell-zenworks-configure -c CheckContentSystem command first, to identify inconsistencies in the content. This command is applicable only for Primary Servers. After you verify the content, run the command and use the appropriate switch (delete or sync).If you have any queries, contact Novell Support for assistance.

  1. Run the following command to sync the database with the content repository:

    novell-zenworks-configure -c CheckContentSystem
    
    -Dzenworks.configure.syncDb="true"
    
  2. To identify content that is available in the content repository, but not in the database, select the Look for content in the content-repo, not in the database option.

    Files that are in the content repository and whose content sync status is not updated in database are updated. Any corruption of content in the content repository is reported if the checksum does not match the database.

  3. To delete the files that are in the content respository but not in the database run the following command:

    novell-zenworks-configure -cCheckContentSystem -Dzenworks.configure.deleteFiles="true"
    

Content in the database is not available in the content repository

Source: ZENworks 11 SP2
Explanation: After you perform an upgrade, some files that are in the database are not available in the content repository.
Action: Perform the following steps:

IMPORTANT:It is strongly recommended to run the novell-zenworks-configure -c CheckContentSystem command first, to identify inconsistencies in the content.This command is applicable only for Primary Servers. After you verify the content, run the command and use the appropriate switch (sync). If you have any queries, contact Novell Support for assistance.

  1. Run the following command to sync the database with the content repository:

    novell-zenworks-configure -c CheckContentSystem -Dzenworks.configure.syncDb="true"

  2. To identify content that is available in the database, but not in the content repository, select the Look for content in the database, not in the content-repo option.

    Files that are not available in the content repository are marked as Unavailable.

  3. Perform the content replication procedure to replicate the files to the content repository.

Removing the Content role from a Satellite does not remove the device from the Closest Server Default Rule and Closest Server Rules

Source: ZENworks 11 SP2
Explanation: If you remove the Content role from a Satellite device, the device is not automatically removed from the Closest Server Default Rule and the Closest Server Rules.
Action: Remove the Satellite device from the Server Hierarchy list. In ZENworks Control Center, click the Configuration tab > select the check box next to the Satellite device, click Action, then click Remove Satellite Server.).

The imaging content is replicated according to the default content replication schedule even if you change the schedule after promoting a managed device to an Imaging Satellite

Source: ZENworks 11 SP2.
Explanation: If you change the Imaging content replication schedule for an Imaging Satellite, the imaging content is replicated from the Primary Server to the Satellite while promoting the managed device to the Imaging Satellite, by using the default schedule and not the revised schedule.
Action: To change the imaging content schedule after promoting a managed device to an Imaging Satellite:
  1. Remove the Imaging role from the Satellite.

    For detailed information on how to demote a Satellite to a managed device, see Section 11.4, Removing the Roles from a Satellite.

  2. Add the Imaging role to the Satellite, then configure the desired imaging content replication schedule while configuring the role.

    For detailed information on how to add the Imaging role to a Satellite, see Section 11.2, Adding and Configuring Satellite Devices..