Novell 主页

GroupWise 常见问题

若有疑问, 我们为您解决。


GroupWise 2014 最终用户许可协议 (EULA) 中进行了哪些更改,为什么?

随着 GroupWise 2014 的发布,我们进行了以下 EULA 变更:

  • 对 GroupWise 的许可现在将基于邮箱,而不再基于用户。
  • 针对 SUSE Linux Enterprise Server Basic Subscription、Novell Messenger 和 GroupWise Mobility Service 的 GroupWise 授权需要具有有效的维护。维护失效的 GroupWise 客户将无权再运行这些组件。
  • 先前的 WebAccess/Messenger 许可证现在称为限制许可证。
  • 我们引入了一种非活动许可证,当组织需要访问因某种原因处于非活动状态的邮箱以进行存档和 eDiscovery 或用于法规遵从性目的时,可以使用这种许可证。
  • 我们还制定了针对未经许可的测试帐户和系统的条款。

这些变更更加符合客户的部署实践,并支持对 GroupWise 2014 中可用的新部署选项(例如使用 Active Directory 或无目录)进行许可证跟踪。有关详细信息,请参阅产品 EULA 或与您的 Novell 销售代表或合作伙伴交流。

客户在什么时候需要遵守新 EULA 中的条款?

在下载 GroupWise 2014 时看到并同意 EULA 后,在环境中的任何部分安装或部署 GroupWise 2014 即表示组织必须遵守这些 EULA 条款。请参阅下面的混合版本部署问题以了解合规性和审计建议。请参阅下面的混合版本部署问题以了解合规性和审计建议。

按邮箱许可

从按用户授予 GroupWise 许可更改为按邮箱授予 GroupWise 许可有什么实际影响?

我们大部分的客户都已经基于邮箱来管理产品,因此我们调整了我们的软件许可证模式以与这些做法保持一致。此变更的实际影响应当非常小。如果客户有基于用户进行许可的 GroupWise 2014 之前的 GroupWise 版本,则在首次安装或使用 GroupWise 2014 软件时,该客户拥有的所有 GroupWise 许可证都将以 1:1 的比率自动转换为邮箱许可证。客户无需采取任何其他措施即可将用户许可证转为邮箱许可证。

如果客户不想将其所有的用户许可证都转换为邮箱许可证,则该客户必须避免升级到或部署任何 GroupWise 2014,并且必须全部保留在早期版本的 GroupWise 上。

我们承认有些组织可能有单个用户需要管理多个邮箱(例如一个个人邮箱和一个咨询台或入站销售邮箱)的情况。具有这些使用情况的用户的客户在进行首次 2014 审计之前,应当与其 Novell 销售代表或合作伙伴讨论选项。

邮箱许可证是否适用于通过 Novell Open Workgroup Suite 授予 GroupWise 2014 许可的客户?

否。对于这些客户,GroupWise 2014 的许可证指标与适用于其 Novell Open Workgroup Suite 分发包的许可证指标相同(基于用户或基于设备的许可证)。

对于客户需要采取行动以利用先前基于用户的许可与新的基于邮箱的许可之间是否有宽限期 或既定时间?

否。没有规定的时间段。在客户部署任意 GroupWise 2014 副本时,该客户部署的所有 GroupWise(例如 GroupWise 8 或 GroupWise 2012)都需要遵守 GroupWise 2014 的 EULA 条款。这种情况可随时发生。客户可以在不升级到 GroupWise 2014 的情况下保持当前的维护合约并继续续订维护。在这些情况下,他们需要遵守之前的 GroupWise EULA 条款。

获得 GroupWise 2014 授权的客户是否仍然有权部署 GroupWise 2012 及之前的版本?

是的,早期版本权限仍然适用。GroupWise 2014 客户可以部署 GroupWise 2012 或其他早期版本作为授权的替代产品。适用的许可证指标是指他们所部署的版本的 EULA 中用到的指标。但请注意,针对使用早期版本的客户的该支持不会延长到发布的生命周期日期以后的日期。选择部署早期版本的客户应当访问 Novell 产品支持生命周期页面并进行相应的规划。

如果某个组织获得 GroupWise 2014 的授权但又混合部署了 GroupWise 2012 和 GroupWise 2014,他们需要多少个许可证?

同时部署 GroupWise 2014 和早期版本的客户现在按“邮箱”进行许可。他们需要足够的许可证来包括所有邮箱。他们的 GroupWise 2012 许可证将按 1:1 的比率转换为“邮箱”许可证。

许可受混合使用针对 GroupWise 2014 邮局运行的不同 GroupWise 客户端版本的影响吗?

否。GroupWise 客户端的版本不会以任何方式影响许可要求。一旦客户将其服务器(POA、MTA、GWIA)更新为 GroupWise 2014,对这些邮箱的任何访问均将受 GroupWise 2014 EULA 的控制。用来访问这些邮箱的 GroupWise 客户端的版本不重要。

将许可从按用户更改为按邮箱后需要客户继续维护合约吗?客户是否仍然拥有该软件的永久许可证?

与过去一样,GroupWise 许可证是永久性的。一旦客户购买了许可证,则无论他们是否继续维护合约,都有权使用 GroupWise。但是,当 GroupWise 维护过期时,下列授权也会过期,而且客户应当卸载并停止使用这些授权:GroupWise Mobility Service 和 Novell Messenger。SUSE Linux Enterprise Server Basic Subscription 客户将不再享有支持或更新权利。其 GroupWise 维护过期的客户也可以选择以独立产品的方式购买 Novell Messenger 或 SUSE Linux Enterprise Server,其许可与 Novell GroupWise 无关。请注意,NetIQ eDirectory 不受这些变更的影响。GroupWise 客户拥有永久的 eDirectory 许可证。

注:永久许可证不适用于订阅或学院许可证。

客户是否需要为 GroupWise 资源(例如位置、物品或角色)购买许可证?

否。GroupWise 2014 EULA 明确定义了包括位置(会议室)、物品(打印机、租车)和角色(咨询台)的资源的许可要求。资源还可用于通过 Novell iPrint 启动移动打印,为此目的向打印机指定的邮箱无需额外的许可证。

对于复制到灾难恢复站点的 GroupWise 数据,组织是否需要邮箱许可证?

否。只要客户具有足够的许可证来涵盖部署中的邮箱,那么在灾难恢复站点运行 GroupWise 就不需要单独的许可证。如果灾难恢复环境中有其他用户没有生产环境所涵盖的邮箱许可证,则客户需要购买额外的邮箱许可证。

许可证授权

随 GroupWise 提供了哪些组件的授权?

NetIQ eDirectory、SUSE Linux Enterprise Server Basic Subscription、Novell Messenger 和 GroupWise Mobility Service 都是提供给 GroupWise 客户的授权。

在 GroupWise 2014 版本中,对这些授权进行了哪些特定更改?

GroupWise 2014 中未对 eDirectory 授权进行任何更改。但 SUSE Linux Enterprise Server Basic Subscription、Novell Messenger 和 GroupWise Mobility Service 的授权现在将明确与有效的 GroupWise 维护相关联。

如果组织的 GroupWise 维护合约到期,他们所使用的授权产品是否会受到影响?

可以。针对 SUSE Linux Enterprise Server Basic Subscription、Novell Messenger 和 GroupWise Mobility Service 的授权都是明确绑定到并依赖于维护其 GroupWise 维护的组织的订阅。在这些情况下,客户有三种选择:续订其 GroupWise 维护;以独立产品方式购买授权(如果可用);或卸载并停止使用这些授权(如果适用)。如果是 SUSE Linux Enterprise Server Basic Subscription,允许 GroupWise 维护失效不需要删除该产品。但它会取消从 SUSE 获得支持或更新的权利。

限制许可证

什么是限制许可证,它与之前的 GroupWise 许可选项有什么不同?

GroupWise Limited Client Mailbox 许可证实质上是之前的 GroupWise WebAccess/Messenger 许可证的一个新名称。该许可证提供了通过 WebAccess 使用 GroupWise 邮箱的权利。它包括与 GroupWise Full Client Mailbox 许可证完全相同的授权,但将客户端访问限制为 WebAccess、移动设备和 POP/IMAP 电子邮件客户端。当组织具有下列用户时通常会使用此方式:仍然需要访问电子邮件的非办公室用户,例如学生、零售人员等。此许可证选项的价格保持不变(大约为 GroupWise Full Client Mailbox 许可证成本的 23%)。要了解其他详细信息,请访问 GroupWise Beta(发布前版本)和 GroupWise 2014(产品发货后)。

现在是否有单独的 Novell Messenger 许可证?是否可以将 Novell Messenger 当做独立产品进行购买?

可以。Novell Messenger 仍然是 GroupWise 维护中的一项授权,但现在也可将其作为独立的产品进行购买。有关定价,请与您的 Novell 销售代表或合作伙伴联系。

非活动许可证

GroupWise 的新非活动许可证是什么?如何以及何时使用该许可证?

非活动许可证是我们添加到 Novell 公司价格表中的一个新的许可选项。它适用于下列情况:邮箱已被管理员明确标记为非活动并且无访问的时间已超过 60 天。在下列情况下通常会发生这种情况:员工离开组织,但该员工的电子邮件必须保留以用于 eDiscovery 或合规性目的。此许可证选项的价格大约为 GroupWise Full Client Mailbox 许可证的 23%。

是否对 GroupWise 产品进行了任何更改以将邮箱标记为非活动并在审计报告中精确汇报?

可以。现在,管理员可以明确将邮箱标记为“非活动”,之后,该邮箱将不会再收到新邮件,GroupWise 也不再记录上一次登录日期。此外,此操作会储存将该帐户标记为非活动的日期并清除所有最后一次登录日期/时间戳。审计报告会统计并显示所有需要非活动许可证的邮箱(超过 60 天并通过管理控制台明确标记)。审计报告会继续按传统定义(即:超过一段时间未访问并且可能需要管理员采取措施的邮箱)显示非活动邮箱,还会显示单独和明确的非活动许可证计数。

测试系统和用户

如何授予 GroupWise 测试系统或测试邮箱许可?

我们现在通过以下方式提供了明确的权限来使用和部署 GroupWise 测试系统和邮箱:在生产系统中,每个邮局两个测试邮箱;在非生产测试系统中,最多 25 个测试邮箱,没有许可费用。


提问

如果您在本页面未找到自己所提问题的答案,请使用此表格提交问题。我们不会直接回答您的问题,但如果您的问题有助于补充本页面,我们将对其进行研究回答,并将其添加至常见问题。

如果您需要立即解答,请联系 Novell 或申请致电。

© 2014 Novell

Novell Home

GroupWise Frequently Asked Questions

You've got questions. We've got answers.


What is changing in the GroupWise 2014 End User License Agreement (EULA) and why?

With the release of GroupWise 2014, we are making the following EULA changes:

  • Licensing for GroupWise will now be counted on a per-mailbox, not a per-user, basis.
  • GroupWise entitlements for SUSE Linux Enterprise Server Basic Subscription, Novell Messenger and GroupWise Mobility Service will require active maintenance. GroupWise customers who let their maintenance lapse will no longer be authorized to run these components.
  • The former WebAccess/Messenger license will now be called a Limited license.
  • We are introducing an Inactive license that can be used when organizations need access to an otherwise-inactive mailbox for archive and eDiscovery or compliance purposes.
  • We have made provisions for unlicensed test accounts and systems.

These changes better align with customer deployment practices and enable license tracking for new deployment options available in GroupWise 2014, such as use of Active Directory or no directory. For more details, please refer to the product EULA or speak with your Novell sales representative or partner.

When will a customer be subject to the terms of the new EULA?

While the EULA is presented and agreed to when GroupWise 2014 is downloaded, the act of installing or deploying GroupWise 2014—in any part of the environment—binds an organization to its terms. See the mixed version deployment question below for compliance and audit recommendations.

PER-MAILBOX LICENSING

What is the practical impact of shifting from per-user to per-mailbox licensing for GroupWise?

The majority of our customers are already managing the product on a per-mailbox basis, so we are aligning our software license model to be consistent with this practice. The practical impact of this change should be minimal. If a customer has licensed versions of GroupWise prior to GroupWise 2014 on a per-user basis, upon first installation or use of the GroupWise 2014 software, all GroupWise licenses owned by the customer automatically convert at a 1:1 ratio to mailbox licenses. No further action is required on the customer’s part to convert the user licenses to mailbox licenses.

If a customer does not want to convert all of their user licenses to mailbox licenses, then the customer must avoid upgrading to or deploying any GroupWise 2014, and must remain entirely on a prior version of GroupWise.

We recognize that some organizations may have individual users who manage multiple mailboxes (a personal mailbox and a helpdesk or inbound sales mailbox, for example). Customers with users in these situations should discuss options with their Novell sales representative or partner prior to their first GroupWise 2014 audit.

Does the mailbox license apply to customers licensed for GroupWise 2014 through the Novell Open Workgroup Suite?

No. For these customers, the license metric for GroupWise 2014 is the same as the license metric that applies to their Novell Open Workgroup Suite bundle (user- or device-based license).

Is there a grace period or a defined time by which a customer needs to act in order to take advantage of the previous user-based licensing vs. the new mailbox-based licensing?

No. There is no specified time period. Customers will be subject to the EULA terms of the GroupWise 2014 for all copies of GroupWise they have deployed (such as GroupWise 8 or GroupWise 2012) at the time that they deploy any copy of GroupWise 2014. That can happen at any time. Customers can be current on maintenance and continue to renew maintenance without upgrading to GroupWise 2014. In these cases, they would be subject to prior GroupWise EULA terms.

Do customers entitled to GroupWise 2014 still have the right to deploy GroupWise 2012 and prior versions?

Yes, prior version rights apply. GroupWise 2014 customers may deploy GroupWise 2012 or other prior versions as an authorized alternative. The applicable license metric is the one referenced in the EULA for the version that they are deploying. Be aware, however, that support for customers using prior versions will not be extended beyond published lifecycle dates. Customers choosing to deploy prior versions should consult the Novell Product Support Lifecycle page and plan accordingly.

If an organization is entitled to GroupWise 2014 but has deployed a mix of GroupWise 2012 and GroupWise 2014, how many licenses are they required to have?

Customers who deploy GroupWise 2014 alongside prior versions are now licensed by “mailbox.” They need sufficient licenses to cover all mailboxes. Their GroupWise 2012 licenses are converted to “mailbox” licenses at a 1:1 rate.

Is licensing affected by the mixed use of different versions of the GroupWise Client running against a GroupWise 2014 post office?

No. The version of the GroupWise Client does not impact the licensing requirements in any way. Once a customer has updated their servers (POA, MTA, GWIA) to GroupWise 2014, any access to those mailboxes is then governed by the GroupWise 2014 EULA. The version(s) of the GroupWise Client used to access those mailboxes is immaterial.

Does the licensing change from per-user to per-mailbox require that the customer continue on maintenance, and does the customer still own a perpetual license for the software?

Just as in the past, the GroupWise license is perpetual. Once customers purchase the license, they are entitled to use GroupWise whether they continue their maintenance contract or not. However, the following entitlements expire when GroupWise maintenance expires, and customers are required to uninstall and cease to use these entitlements: GroupWise Mobility Service and Novell Messenger. SUSE Linux Enterprise Server Basic Subscription customers forfeit the right to support or updates. Customers whose GroupWise maintenance expires may also elect to purchase Novell Messenger or SUSE Linux Enterprise Server as stand-alone products, with licensing unrelated to Novell GroupWise. Note that NetIQ eDirectory is not affected by these changes. A GroupWise customer owns a perpetual license of eDirectory.

Note: Perpetual license rights do not apply to subscription or academic licenses.

Are customers required to purchase licenses for GroupWise resources (for instance, places, things or roles)?

No. The GroupWise 2014 EULA explicitly defines the licensing requirements for resources that include places (conference rooms), things (printers, rental cars) and roles (helpdesk). Resources are also used to enable mobile printing via Novell iPrint, and no additional licenses are required to assign a mailbox to a printer for this purpose.

Does an organization need mailbox licenses for GroupWise data replicated to a disaster recovery site?

No. As long as a customer has ample licenses to cover the mailboxes in deployment, separate licenses are not required to run GroupWise in a disaster recovery site. If there are additional users in the disaster recovery environment who do not have mailbox license coverage in the production environment, the customer will need to purchase additional mailbox licenses.

LICENSE ENTITLEMENTS

What components are provided as entitlements with GroupWise?

NetIQ eDirectory, SUSE Linux Enterprise Server Basic Subscription, Novell Messenger and GroupWise Mobility Service are all entitlements provided to GroupWise customers.

What specific changes are being made to these entitlements with the release of GroupWise 2014?

No changes are being made to the eDirectory entitlement with GroupWise 2014. The entitlements for SUSE Linux Enterprise Server Basic Subscription, Novell Messenger and GroupWise Mobility Service, however, will now be explicitly tied to active GroupWise maintenance.

Will an organization’s use of entitled products be impacted if their GroupWise maintenance expires?

Yes. The entitlements for SUSE Linux Enterprise Server Basic Subscription, Novell Messenger and GroupWise Mobility Service are all subscriptions that are explicitly tied to and dependent upon an organization maintaining its GroupWise maintenance. In these cases, the customer has three choices: renew their GroupWise maintenance, purchase the entitlements as stand-alone products (where available), or uninstall and cease to use these entitlements (where applicable). In the case of SUSE Linux Enterprise Server Basic Subscription, allowing GroupWise maintenance to lapse does not require the removal of the product. It does, however eliminate the right to support or updates from SUSE.

LIMITED LICENSE

What is the Limited license, and how does it differ from previous GroupWise licensing options?

The GroupWise Limited Client Mailbox license is essentially a new name for the former GroupWise WebAccess/Messenger license. This license provides rights to use a GroupWise mailbox via WebAccess. It includes exactly the same entitlements as a GroupWise Full Client Mailbox license, yet limits client access to WebAccess, mobile devices, and POP/IMAP email clients. Organizations often use this when they have deskless users, such as students, retail workers and so on, who still need access to email. The price of this license option remains the same (approximately 23 percent of the cost of a GroupWise Full Client Mailbox license). For additional details, please visit GroupWise Beta (prior to release) and GroupWise 2014 (once the product ships).

Is there now a separate Novell Messenger license? Can Novell Messenger be purchased as a stand-alone product?

Yes. While Novell Messenger remains an entitlement with GroupWise maintenance, it is also now available as a stand-alone product. For pricing, please contact your Novell sales representative or partner.

INACTIVE LICENSE

What is the new Inactive license for GroupWise? How and when is it used?

The Inactive license is a new licensing option we have added to the Novell Corporate Price List. It is used in cases where a mailbox has been explicitly marked as inactive by the administrator and has not been accessed for 60 days. This is often the case when an employee leaves an organization, but the employee’s email must be retained for eDiscovery or compliance purposes. This license option is priced at approximately 23 percent of the cost of a GroupWise Full Client Mailbox license.

Have any changes been made to the GroupWise product to mark a mailbox as inactive and report that accurately in audit reports?

Yes. The administrator can now explicitly mark a mailbox as ‘Inactive,’ after which the mailbox will no longer receive new mail and GroupWise will no longer record the last login date. In addition, this action will store the date that the account was made inactive and clear any last login date/time stamp. The audit report will count and show all mailboxes that require an Inactive license (they were marked explicitly via the admin console and 60 days have passed). The audit report will continue to show inactive mailboxes as traditionally determined (that is, mailboxes that haven’t been accessed for a period of time and may require administrator action) as well as a separate and explicit inactive license count.

TEST SYSTEMS AND USERS

How do I license a GroupWise test system or test mailboxes?

We’ve now provided explicit rights to use and deploy GroupWise test systems and mailboxes in the following ways: In a production system, two test mailboxes per post office, and in a non-production test system, up to 25 test mailboxes—at no licensing cost.


Ask a Question

If you did not see your question answered on this page, submit it using this form. We will not reply to you directly, but if your question looks like a good addition to this page, we will research the answer and add it to this FAQ.

If you need an immediate answer, please contact Novell or request a call.

© 2014 Novell