Novell Home



Unterbindung der Speicherung bestimmter Dateitypen

Erstellung von Richtlinien, um die Speicherung bestimmter Dateitypen zuzulassen bzw. automatisch zu unterbinden

In vielen Unternehmen ist die Zuweisung von Benutzer- oder Gruppen-Storage an die Bedingung gekoppelt, dass die betreffenden Netzwerkbereiche ausschließlich für arbeitsrelevante Dateien genutzt werden. Sofern dies nicht ausreichend überwacht wird, kann das Netzwerk schnell zum primären Speicherort für Musikdateien, Fotoalben und private Dokumente mutieren.

Mit Novell Storage Manager lassen sich die Richtlinien zu Dateitypen, die in Ihrem Unternehmen auf Benutzer- und Gruppen-Storage gespeichert werden dürfen, problemlos durchsetzen.

So können Sie beispielsweise festlegen, dass die Speicherung bestimmter Dateitypen im Netzwerk unterbunden wird. Falls eine Ihrer Richtlinien also die Speicherung von Musik- und Videodateien in Basis- und Gruppen-Storage-Verzeichnissen untersagt, könnten Sie angeben, dass .mp3-, .mp4-, .wav-, .ram-, .ra-, .wma-, .wmv-, .avi- und .midi-Dateien als unzulässige Dateitypen gelten.

Im Rahmen eines sogenannten Abgleichverfahrens über Storage Manager würden die unzulässigen Dateitypen dann entweder gelöscht oder auf preisgünstigeren Storage verschoben. Was mit den Dateien geschieht, hängt von der jeweiligen Richtlinie ab.

Insbesondere größere Unternehmen, die bislang versucht haben, dem unkontrollierbaren Storage-Wachstum durch Hinzufügen von noch mehr Storage zu begegnen, werden Storage Manager als vernünftige, kostengünstige Alternative zu schätzen wissen.

  • Einführung in Storage Manager Erfahren Sie alles Wissenswerte über die grundlegenden Merkmale und Funktionen von Storage Manager. Podcast Video
  • Storage Manager: Ein Muss für alle IT-Abteilungen Erfahren Sie hier, warum IDC der Meinung ist, dass die Welt unbedingt diese Technologie kennenlernen sollte. IDC-Bericht
Storage Manager

Rückruf anfordern

Serviceanfrage absenden

* Erforderliche Felder

First Name is a required field
Last Name is a required field
Email is a required field
Company is a required field
Phone is a required field
City is a required field
Country is a required field
Address is a required field
Zip/Postal Code is a required field
State is a required field
Comments is a required field

Read our Privacy Policy.

Request a Call

© 2014 Novell

Novell Home

Prevents Storage of File Types

Create policies to enforce allowable file types and automatically remove prohibited ones

When organizations grant users and groups network storage areas, they often do so with stipulations that the areas be used only for work-related files. Without vigilance however, these network storage areas can become primary repositories for music files, photo albums, side work, and who knows what else?

Novell Storage Manager makes it easy for you to enforce your organization's policies pertaining to what types of files can and cannot be stored in user and collaborative storage areas.

Within the policy, you can stipulate the types of files that cannot be stored in network storage areas. For example, if you had a policy disallowing music and video files on network home and collaborative storage areas, you could indicate that .mp3, .mp4, .wav, .ram, .ra, .wma, .wmv, .avi, and .midi files be identified as unallowable file types.

Upon doing a "Backfill Operation" in Storage Manager, the unallowable file types would be either deleted or moved to less expensive storage. The policy will dictate what is done with the unallowable files.

Large organizations that have traditionally addressed the problem of uncontrollable file storage growth by simply adding more storage, will find Storage Manager's enforcement of allowable file types as a more sensible and cost effective alternative.

  • Get acquainted with Storage Manager Learn the basics about Storage Manager's features and functionality Podcast Video
  • Storage Manager: An IT must-have Find out why IDC says, "The world must know about this technology..." IDC Report
Storage Manager

Request a Call

Submit a service request

* Required Fields

First Name is a required field
Last Name is a required field
Email is a required field
Company is a required field
Phone is a required field
City is a required field
Country is a required field
Address is a required field
Zip/Postal Code is a required field
State is a required field
Comments is a required field

Read our Privacy Policy.

Request a Call

© 2014 Novell