Novell 主页

ZENworks Asset Management 竞争对手比较

功能 ZENworks Asset Management 竞争

安装和管理

集成发现工具 ZENworks 提供了一系列集成的网络发现和部署工具,可用于将 ZENworks Adaptive Agent 部署至组织想要追踪和管理的所有设备。 网络发现工具独立于核心部署工具,使得其依赖于其它应用程序部署解决方案,从而将目标设备纳入管理控制。
系统更新与维护 ZENworks 利用集成系统更新机制更新产品的核心功能。这表示,无任何其它第三方产品或其组件需要更新 ZENworks。 可能需要配置工具以更新或增补核心组件。
基于 Web 的管理控制台 ZENworks Control Center 是基于 web 的控制台,可用于管理整个基础设施。这意味着 ZENworks Asset Management 无需在管理工作站上安装附加插件、附件或瘦客户机便可管理 IT 资产。 部分 竞争性产品则需要安装瘦客户机或附件和/或插件,从而限制特定平台上的管理功能。

架构和平台支持

多平台管理 ZENworks 可管理所有主要平台的资产,例如:Windows、Mac OS X、Linux、Unix(HP-UX、AIX 和 Solaris)以及相同控制台上的 NetWare。 侧重于少数平台(Windows 和 Mac OS X)的有限平台覆盖
多平台管理 可在 Windows Server、Linux 和 Novell Open Enterprise Server 上安装核心 ZENworks 服务(ZENworks 主服务器)。 大多数竞争性产品仅可在 Windows Server 平台上运行。
数据库支持 ZENworks Asset Management 随附可作为嵌入式数据库在首个主服务器上安装或作为远程实例安装的 Sybase 数据库平台。除此之外,ZENworks 还支持 Microsoft SQL Server 和 Oracle,允许客户根据内部技能级别进行自由选择。 大多数竞争性产品仅支持 Microsoft SQL Server 数据库平台。
分支机构的可伸缩性 ZENworks 采用 Satellite Server 和远程分支机构领域所收集的角色进行横向扩展以满足客户分布式需求。可在 Windows 和 Linux 平台(桌面和服务器平台)上安装这些组件。 不适用于许多竞争性产品。
断开连接的设备 ZENworks 通过可手动运行的便携式收集器提供脱机库存/数据收集功能。然后,可将数据导入至服务器,以便保存所有资产的最新信息,无论其在何处或是其连接至企业基础架构的频率如何。 部分 不适用于许多竞争性产品。
自定义库存和人口统计数据收集 ZENworks 为用户可通过手动输入或自动提取文本文件和注册表中的信息,从而获取人口统计信息的机制。此工具可与 Active Directory 和 eDirectory 集成以收集人口统计信息。 大多数竞争性产品在收集人口统计信息时提供有限灵活性。

报告

基于 Web 的报告 ZENworks 通过 ZENworks Control Center 或 ZENworks Reporting Server 解决了报告需求问题。这两个控制台都是基于 web 的控制台,同时无需安装插件、附件或其它瘦客户机便可创建、自定义或生成报告。 竞争性产品通过利用单独的应用程序或自定义控制台提供报告生成和报告视图。
标准(固定)报告 ZENworks 提供数以百计的预定义报告,可全面掌握整个组织的 IT 资产信息(包括硬件和软件)。 部分 缺乏大量提供有关组织资产有限信息的预定义报告。
自定义报告 ZENworks Reporting Server 由 SAP BusinessObjects Enterprise Business Intelligence 引擎提供支持,可提供大量自定义报告和绘图功能,无需详细了解 SQL 脚本语言。 为了生成详细的自定义报告,管理员(报告创建人)必须深入了解完整的数据库纲要。
报警和通知 强大的商业智能功能提供了简单方便的报告选项,以突出显示报告差异并利用企业电子邮件基础架构和文档库存在日程表上生成分布报告。 部分 竞争对手将不会就所关注的报告提供此级别的灵活性。

软件识别

知识库方案 大约 70,000 个唯一的软件标题和版本可通过 ZENworks 库存扫描和协调进程的识别。 部分 极少数的供应商提供对软件标题和版本的相同识别级别。
套件和集合 ZENworks Asset Management 可有效识别例如 Microsoft Office 或 Adobe Creative Suite 的套件。对于不符合标准的软件系列,可使用收集框架自定义生成识别方法。 部分 部分供应商可以识别套件,但竞争性产品缺乏自定义收集功能。
版本识别与合并 ZENworks Asset Management 可以识别各类增补程序级别的软件产品并进行收集,从而呈现许可软件产品的正确视图。 部分 许多软件供应商期待可以手动建立所收集数据与许可证之间的关联。

硬件识别

详细的硬件属性 ZENworks 收集了关于硬件的详细信息,包括制造商、部件号和序列号详情。这也包括仔细研究唯一识别、功能了解/硬件资产比较的详情。 竞争产品并不提供对硬件属性、报告功能的精细识别。
自定义硬件编辑 ZENworks 提供灵活性以编辑/添加因任何原因无法正确识别的硬件资产。 竞争产品不提供对硬件数据收集的此类灵活性。

软件许可证合规性

软件许可单一视图 ZENworks Asset Management 提供对所有软件许可、产品使用和资产分配的单一视图,以满足合规性、内部预算和资产有效使用。 大多数竞争产品不提供有关许可证管理选项的同类细化等级。
所有权表示法的灵活验证 ZENworks Asset Management 提供了对所有权模型的灵活验证,这类模型可关联基于订购单和自定义购买汇总的系统以便创建统一视图。 大多数竞争性产品关联许可产品的一个或多个订购单,使得表示法缺乏灵活性。
许可类型 ZENworks Asset Management 允许管理员在相同的许可产品视图中呈现全部许可证、升级许可证并维护许可证类型。 大多数竞争者无法在统一视图中保持全部许可证相一致、升级许可证并维护许可证。
许可证授权 ZENworks Asset Management 为各类复杂的授权模式(例如基于安装、机器、用户和企业的模式)提供灵活的建模授权(自动和手动)。 大多数竞争性产品不会在呈现复杂授权模式时不具有相同级别的灵活性,因此其将提供特定的自定义模式以处理复杂授权。

合同管理

扩展属性 ZENworks Asset Management 提供与合同有关的多个属性,同样可扩展为自定义属性。 竞争性产品将会提供极其特定的属性,但将此类属性扩展以便添加其它属性时不够灵活。
续订历史记录和警报 ZENworks Asset Management 允许管理员在合同上配置警报和通知,从而跟踪各类合同续订事件。此外,可跟踪所有续订事件的历史记录以便进行进一步审计。 竞争性产品提供有限的合同管理功能和灵活性。
文档与资产关系 ZENworks Asset Management 允许组织在完整的交易过程中将文档文件添加至合同本身。此外,软件和硬件资产可关联至系统的合同中,如此,可使用此关系创建复杂的追溯报告功能。 大多数竞争者在报告功能方面不具备相同级别的灵活性,以便通过关联的维护或采购合同关联 IT 资产。

© 2014 Novell

Novell Home

ZENworks Asset Management Competitor Comparison

Feature ZENworks Asset Management Competition

Installation and Administration

Integrated Discovery Tools Yes ZENworks provides an integrated set of network discovery and deployment tools which can be used to deploy the ZENworks Adaptive Agent to all devices that the organization wants to track and manage. No Network discovery tools are isolated from core deployment tools, leading to the dependency on additional application deployment solutions in order to bring the target devices under management.
System update and maintenance Yes ZENworks leverages the integrated System Update mechanism in order to update the core features of the product. This means, no other third party product is required to update ZENworks or any of its components. No May need configuration tools to update or patch the core components.
Web based Admin Console Yes ZENworks Control Center is the web-based console used to manage the full infrastructure under management. This means ZENworks Asset Management requires no additional plugins, addons, or thick client to be installed on an administrative workstation in order to manage IT assets. Partial Competitive products require thick clients or need add-ons and/or plugins installed, leading to limited administrative capabilities on certain platforms.

Architecture and Platform Support

Multi-platform management Yes ZENworks manages the assets of all major platforms such as: Windows, Mac OS X, Linux, Unix (HP-UX, AIX, and Solaris), and NetWare all from the same console. No Limited platform coverage focusing around a few platforms such as Windows and Mac OS X
Multi-platform Administration Yes Core ZENworks services (ZENworks Primary Server) can be installed on Windows Server, Linux, and Novell Open Enterprise Server. No Most competition runs on the Windows Server platform only.
Database Support Yes ZENworks Asset Management ships with the Sybase database platform which can be installed as an embedded database on the first Primary Server, or as a remote instance. In addition to this, ZENworks also supports both Microsoft SQL Server and Oracle giving the customer the freedom to choose based on in-house skill sets. No Most competition supports the Microsoft SQL Server database platform only.
Scalability for Branch Office Yes ZENworks utilizes the Satellite Server and the collection role for remote branch office locations in order to scale out to the customers distributed requirements. These components can be installed on the Windows and Linux platforms (both desktop and server platforms). No Not available with many competitors.
Disconnected Devices Yes ZENworks provides offline inventory/data collection capabilities through a portable collector which can be run manually. Data can then be imported to the server in order to keep information up to date on all assets, regardless of where they are or how often they connect to the corporate infrastructure. Partial Not available with many competitors.
Custom Inventory and demographic data collection Yes ZENworks provides the mechanism for users to provide demographic-based information by manually entering it, or automatically extracting the information from text files and the registry. This tool can also be integrated with Active Directory and eDirectory to collect demographic information. No Most competitive products provide limited flexibility in collecting demographic-based data.

Reporting

Web-based reporting Yes ZENworks addresses reporting requirements through either ZENworks Control Center or the ZENworks Reporting Server. Both consoles are web-based, and require no plugins, addons, or other thick clients to be installed in order to create, customize, or generate reports. No Competitive products provide report generation and report views by leveraging standalone applications or custom consoles.
Standard (canned) Reports Yes ZENworks provides hundreds of predefined reports that provide a detailed understanding of the IT assets (both hardware and software) throughout the organization. Partial Lack of a large number of predefined reports providing limited information about the organizations assets.
Custom Reporting Yes ZENworks Reporting Server is powered by the SAP BusinessObjects Enterprise Business Intelligence engine which provides significant custom reporting and charting capabilities, without the need of an advanced understanding for the SQL scripting language. No In order to design detailed custom reports, the administrator (or report creator) must have an indepth knowledge of the complete database schema.
Alerts and Notifications Yes Strong business intelligence capabilities provide easy reporting options, to highlight report differences and generate a distribution of reports on a schedule, leveraging the corporate email infrastructure and document repositories. Partial Competitors do not provide this level of flexibility as far as reporting is concerned.

Software Identification

Knowledge base approach Yes Approximately 70,000 unique software titles and versions can be identified by the ZENworks inventory scan and reconciliation processes. Partial Very few vendors provide the same level of identification when it comes to software titles and versions.
Suites and Collections Yes ZENworks Asset Management can identify suites such as Microsoft Office or Adobe Creative Suite effectively. For software collections which do not follow a standard, identification methodology can be custom generated using a collection framework. Partial While some of the vendors may be able to identify suites, custom collection capabilities are lacking in competitive products.
Version Identification and consolidation Yes ZENworks Asset Management has the ability to identify software products of various patch levels, and collate them to represent a proper view of the software product which can be licensed. Partial Many software vendors expect the correlation between collected data and licenses be established manually.

Hardware Identification

Detailed Hardware Attributes Yes ZENworks collects detailed information with respect to hardware information including manufacturer, part name and serial number details. This also includes elaborate details for unique identification, and functional understanding/comparison of the hardware assets. No Competitive products do not provide granular identification of hardware attributes, and reporting capabilities.
Custom Editing of Hardware Yes ZENworks provides the flexibility to edit/add hardware assets that cannot be identified properly for whatever reason. No Competitive products do not provide such flexibility in terms of hardware data collection.

Software License Compliance

Single View of Software License Yes ZENworks Asset Management provides a single view of all software licenses, product usage, and asset allocation to meet compliance, internal budgeting, and assess effective usage. No Most competitive products do not provide the same level of granularity when it comes to license management options.
Flexible Proof of Ownership representation Yes ZENworks Asset Management provides a flexible proof of ownership model that can associate purchase order based, and custom purchase summary based systems to create a uniform view. No Most competitive products associate one or more purchase orders to the licensed products, making the representation inflexible.
Licensing Types Yes ZENworks Asset Management allows the administrator to represent full license, upgrade license, and maintenance license types in the same licensed product view. No Most competitors are unable to reconcile full license, upgrade license, and maintenance license types in a unified view.
License Entitlement Yes ZENworks Asset Management provides flexibility in modeling entitlements (automatically and manually) for various complex entitlement models such as installation, machine, user, and enterprise based. No Most competing products do not have the same level of flexibility when it comes to representing complex entitlement models, and thus provide ad-hoc custom models to handle complex entitlements.

Contract Management

Extensive Attributes Yes ZENworks Asset Management provides numerous attributes related to contracts that can be extended for custom attributes as well. No Competitive products provide very specific attributes, and are not as flexible when it comes to extending them to add additional attributes.
Renewal History and Alerts Yes ZENworks Asset Management allows the administrator to configure alerts and notifications on the contract, thus tracking various contract renewal events. In addition, history of all renewal events can be tracked for future auditing purposes. No Competitive products provide limited contract management capabilities and flexibility.
Document and asset relationships Yes ZENworks Asset Management gives the organization the ability to add document artifacts to the contract itself, leaving a full papertrail of the transaction. In addition to this, software and hardware assets can be associated with contracts in the system such that the relationship can be used to create complex drill-down reporting capabilities. No Most competitors do not have this same level of flexibility in their reporting capabilities in order to correlate IT assets with associated maintenance or acquisition contracts.

© 2014 Novell