Novell 首頁

城邦媒體控股集團

城邦媒體控股集團在 SUSE Linux Enterprise Server 上實作 Novell Sentinel,因此擁有一套集中式網路安全性監控解決方案,可以更快速、有效回應新的安全性威脅。Novell 解決方案可即時產生可客製化的報告,幫助城邦調整問題解決方式的優先順序,同時保護公司網路。

綜覽

城邦媒體控股集團 (簡稱「城邦」) 在台灣出版近 40 種雜誌,印刷量逾 2000 萬份。至今城邦已出版 15,000 個書目,每年增加 2,000 多個新書目,年書本印刷量逾1,300萬冊。城邦隸屬於和記黃埔的聯營機構 TOM 集團有限公司,員工人數超過 1,200 人。

挑戰

網際網路與其他非實體的銷售管道日益重要,因此出版業者必須更用心保護、維護公司網路的安全。城邦推出許多 Web 服務,包括線上購書工具、部落格、線上雜誌和遊戲網站等。這些服務所創造的收益,佔集團營業額的極大部分。

該公司原有的大型內部網路與外界之間建立許多連線管道,並且採用多種安全性與監控技術。對公司而言,最大的挑戰在於如何管理這些不同屬性的工具,並且在面臨潛在或實際的安全性威脅時,能夠提出快速、適當的回應。城邦的 IT 人員必須手動收集、對照合併來自上百個不同系統和裝置的記錄檔案,並且加以分析以判定根本原因,然後嘗試解決問題。

維護網路安全需要投入龐大的時間和人力,對於公司資源造成極大耗損。城邦同時也擔心,無法迅速找出並解決安全性問題,對於公司是一項隱憂。

解決方案

城邦詳細評估領導市場的多種解決方案之後,選擇 Novell Sentinel 作為安全性監控與管理的中央控制點。Novell 解決方案可自動彙總城邦網路上數千筆記錄檔案內的資訊,提供可客製化的即時報告,網路狀態一目了然。

城邦媒體控股集團台灣營運中心總經理龔汝沁說:「過去光是判定網路上發生安全性問題的確切位置就是非常艱鉅的挑戰,更何況我們有數百個應用程式和伺服器,以及超過 1,400 台 PC 需要保護。Novell Sentinel 讓我們可以集中處理大量的即時資料,並將新的安全性威脅資料彙整成準確、容易判讀的報告。」

城邦在執行 SUSE Linux Enterprise Server 的三部 IBM BladeCenter 伺服器上實作 Novell Sentinel。公司主要使用該解決方案來對照合併來自主幹網路設備 (包括流量管理裝置、交換器和防火牆) 的事件資訊。城邦與 Novell 合作夥伴 Mikotek 永磐科技合作,共同設計和實作這套解決方案。

龔總經理表示:「Mikotek 提供的服 務實在太棒了。他們的顧問積極主動, 我們很重視他們持續提供的建議和 支援。」

Novell Sentinel 讓城邦能以更積極主動的方式來管理網路安全性,而且輕鬆就能找出潛在問題,防止問題擴大造成無可挽回的影響。這個解決方案採用城邦設定的企業規則,針對特定事件建立適當警示,因此可協助 IT 管理員及時採取正確行動。

城邦媒體控股集團資訊部資深經理楊徽昉說:「Novell 解決方案的主要優點在於它具備開放性和客製化功能。我們之前考慮的其他解決方案只能提供標準化格式的報告;Novell Sentinel 讓我們真正掌握完整的控制權,也更容易新增裝置到集中式報告功能。」

Novell Sentinel 還能夠儲存完整的事件歷程,建立詳細的知識庫,讓城邦輕鬆找出並解決之前曾經發生過的問題。

成果

部署 Novell Sentinel 後,城邦可以更明確掌握其龐大、錯綜複雜的網路上所發生的事件。有了 Novell 解決方案,城邦不再需要以人工對照合併和分析上百個記錄檔案的資料,因而減輕 IT 管理員的負擔,讓他們可以將心力投注在研究更有效的問題解決方式。

楊資深經理表示:「在我們實作 Novell Sentinel 之前,由於系統數量太多、太複雜,因此我們對於網路上發生的事件與警示的認知不夠完整。Novell 解決方案將網路安全性監控作業簡化並集中處理,讓我們可以即時掌握網路的確實情況。」

自從導入 Novell Sentinel 後,城邦開始減少專門負責網路安全的 IT 人員數量,從四人減為三人,並且讓他們能更專心處理其他策略性問題。Novell 解決方案提供前所未見的高品質分析功能,並且可以更快找出根本原因。

龔總經理說:「以前可能要花兩個小時才能找到正確的記錄檔案、對照合併相關資訊再加以分析;現在 Novell Sentinel 只需要五分鐘,而且結果更合乎預期。Novell Sentinel 幫助我們更快找出潛在的網路安全性問題並加以解決,不但提高了員工生產力,同時也加強我們線上作業的安全性。」

Request a Call

Submit a service request

* Required Fields

First Name is a required field
Last Name is a required field
Email is a required field
Company is a required field
Phone is a required field
City is a required field
Country is a required field
Address is a required field
Zip/Postal Code is a required field
State is a required field
Comments is a required field

Read our Privacy Policy.

Request a Call

Related Products & Solutions

© 2014 Novell

Novell Home

Cite Media Holding Group

By implementing Novell Sentinel on SUSE Linux Enterprise Server, Cite Media Holding Group has created a centralised network security monitoring solution that enables faster and more effective response to emerging security threats.

About Cite Media Holding Group

Cite Media Holding Group (Cite) publishes 40 magazines in Taiwan, printing more than 20 million issues each year. It also has a catalogue of 15,000 books, adding over 2,000 new titles each year, and printing more than 13 million copies each year. The company has over 1,200 employees and is a division of TOM Group Limited, an associate of Hutchison Whampoa Limited.

Challenge

The increasing importance of the Internet and other non-physical distribution channels requires publishing companies to focus more and more on protecting and securing their networks. Cite has a large number of Web-based offerings, including online book purchasing tools, blogs, online magazines and game sites, which contribute significantly to its revenues.

The company had built up an extensive internal network with numerous connections to the outside world, and had equipped it with a variety of security and monitoring technologies. The difficulty was managing all the different tools to enable rapid, appropriate responses to perceived or actual security threats. Cite IT staff had to manually collect and collate log files from hundreds of different systems, analyse them to determine root causes, then attempt to resolve the issues.

The time and effort required to maintain network security represented a significant drain on resources. Cite was also concerned about the lack of speed in identifying and resolving security issues.

Novell Solution

Following a detailed evaluation of the market-leading solutions, Cite selected Novell Sentinel™ as its central point of control for security monitoring and management. The Novell solution automatically aggregates information from thousands of log files across the Cite network, and provides customisable real-time reporting on network health.

"Before, it was an enormous challenge to determine the precise location of security issues in the network—we have hundreds of applications and servers, and more than 1,400 PCs," said Elaine Kung, General Manager of Taiwan Operation Center, Cite Media Holding Group. "Novell Sentinel has enabled us to bring together huge volumes of real-time data and distil it into accurate, user-friendly reports on emerging security threats."

Cite implemented Novell Sentinel on three IBM BladeCenter servers running SUSE® Linux Enterprise Server. The company uses the solution primarily to collate event information from its backbone network equipment. Cite worked with Mikotek, a Novell Partner, to design and implement the solution.

"The service we receive from Mikotek is excellent," said Ms. Kung. "Their consultants are highly proactive, and we value the advice and support that they continue to provide."

Novell Sentinel enables Cite to be more proactive in its management of network security, effortlessly identifying potential issues before they have any significant impact. The solution uses rules set by Cite to create appropriate alerts for given events, helping IT administrators to take the right action in a timely manner.

"The main advantages of the Novell solution are its openness and its customisation capabilities," said Hank Young, Senior Manager of IT Department, Cite Media Holding Group. "Alternative solutions could only provide reports in standardised formats; Novell Sentinel gives us complete control, and makes it easy to add new devices into the central reporting function."

Novell Sentinel also stores a full history of events, creating a detailed knowledge-base that enables Cite to easily identify and resolve issues that have occurred previously.

Results

Novell Sentinel has enabled Cite to gain a clearer view of events across its large and complex network. By removing the need to manually collate and analyse data from hundreds of log files, the Novell solution has reduced the burden on the IT administrators and freed them up to deliver more effective problem resolution.

"Previously, there were gaps in our understanding of events and alerts on the network, because of the number and complexity of systems," said Mr. Young. "Novell Sentinel has simplified and centralised the task of network security monitoring, giving us an accurate picture of the health of the network in real time."

Since introducing Novell Sentinel, Cite has reduced the number of IT staff dedicated to network security from four to three, enabling improved focus on other strategic issues. The Novell solution provides higher-quality analysis than was achievable in the past, and enables faster identification of root causes.

"Previously, it might take two hours to find the right log files, collate the relevant information and analyse it; with Novell Sentinel it takes just five minutes, and the results are better," said Ms. Kung. "By helping us identify and fix potential network security issues more rapidly, Novell Sentinel improves employee productivity and helps us to provide better security for our online business."

Request a Call

Submit a service request

* Required Fields

First Name is a required field
Last Name is a required field
Email is a required field
Company is a required field
Phone is a required field
City is a required field
Country is a required field
Address is a required field
Zip/Postal Code is a required field
State is a required field
Comments is a required field

Read our Privacy Policy.

Request a Call

Related Products & Solutions

© 2014 Novell