Cool Solutions

Controlling Notification of a New GroupWise Client

coolguys

By:

May 15, 2007 4:33 am

Reads: 3171

Comments:0

Score:0

Problem

A Forum reader recently asked:

“When I change the PO to the new SDD and then close and re-open my GroupWise, I get the “there is a new client available” message. I’d rather they not be notified until the upgrade is ready to go.”

And here’s the response from James Barkun …

Solution

If you want to avoid notifying the clients of a new version until you’re ready to roll it out, then do the following:

1. In CLIENTS\WIN32\SETUP.CFG set ENABLED=NO

2. In CLIENT\SOFTWARE.INF file change the BuildNumber to 0 (actually comment out the current line and add a new one, with the BuildNumber of 0)

3. When you’re ready to roll out the client you simply change the ENABLED to YES and remove the 0 BuildNumber and uncomment the original build#.

I also find that one force update check is not enough, as some may already have that same bump# (I don’t know why they set it up to be this complicated …) So after you’ve done the force update, and all or most of your clients have logged in, do it again to catch the clients that had the same bump#. There may still be some stragglers later though, who didn’t happen to log in either time and have the same bump# that your second force-update created …

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

Tags:
Categories: Uncategorized

Disclaimer: This content is not supported by Novell. It was contributed by a community member and is published "as is." It seems to have worked for at least one person, and might work for you. But please be sure to test it thoroughly before using it in a production environment.

Comment

RSS