Q. Can the GroupWise mobility wipe an iPhone if it gets lost?
A. Yes. The Novell Data Synchronizer Connector for Mobility is able to reset a mobile device to factory default settings. The administrator can use this option when a user has lost a mobile device, to ensure that confidential corporate information does not fall into the wrong hands.
The Mobility Connector is a bidirectional connector for synchronizing data between GroupWise and mobile devices. It is provided as a component of the Data Synchronizer Mobility Pack, which consists of Data Synchronizer, the GroupWise Connector, and the Mobility Connector.
The Mobility Connector sends the Reset command to the mobile device, but different devices respond to the Reset command in different ways. On some mobile devices, this functionality is known as a “kill pill.” Regardless of the device-specific functionality, this is a very serious step to take with a mobile device.
See Section 4.6, Resetting a Device to Factory Default Settings for complete instructions.