Administrators sometimes find themselves being asked by upper management about what should be done about accounts of employees who have been terminated. The following are suggestions of what an administrator can consider doing following the termination of an employee with an account in Teaming.
The first option, which is most commonly used, is to delete the user’s name. To do this navigate to the user’s personal workspace, click Modify > Delete and OK. Instead of actually deleting the user’s name, the name is changed (the name now has deleted and the date it was deleted next to it) and all of the user’s data is preserved. The account is no longer accessible through a username and password. All the access control settings for the personal workspace continue even after the deletion. If you don’t want to allow people to view terminated employees’ personal workspaces, then you need to change Access Control settings to remove All Users and any other users that might have been added that you want to hide the workspace from.
However, if your organization has certain procedures about waiting a certain amount of time before deleting a user’s account, then you can do the following:
Change User’s Password:
One of the first things that an administrator does after someone is terminated or leaves employment and the company has a policy to wait a certain amount of time before deleting an account is to change that user’s password. To do this navigate to the user’s personal workspace. Click Manage Profile > Modify. Type the new password in both text boxes for the password and click OK. With the password changed, the previous user no longer has access to sensitive company information.
Hide Terminated User’s Workspace
You can hide the person’s workspace from being viewed by all the other employees. To do this, navigate to the user’s personal workspace and change Access Control settings to remove All Users and any other users that might have been added that you want to hide the workspace from. This will ensure that the person’s workspace is still located in Teaming, but will not be accessible by other users. The user can then be deleted at a later date.
Depending on your organizations policies concerning terminated employees, Teaming allows you to either delete employees’ accounts or change the user’s password until a later date. This gives you some flexibility and either way, all of the employee’s data is safely stored within Teaming.