A Forum reader recently asked:
“How can I be sure the space on my server is accurate? I am concerned there might be build up on the server will lots of other old deleted email not being removed.”
And here’s the response from Tim Heywood …
When you delete a user, GW has this thought in the back of its head, “What if this user is needed after all?” As a result, the data is retained for 21 days before it is removed from disk. Even running the /forceclean option will not clear out the user of the data.
If you “really” want to kill off space used by a user,
1. Delete the contents of the mailbox first.
2. Empty the Trash.
3. Run the Reduce program.
4. Once the mail is all gone, then delete the user.