11.14 Salvaging or Purging Deleted Junctions

Deleted junctions are treated like deleted files for an NSS volume. If salvage is enabled for the NSS volume, a deleted junction can be salvaged or purged using the same tools that you use for managing deleted files. If salvage is disabled for the NSS volume, deleted junctions are purged immediately so are not available for salvage.

For more information about configuring salvage for NSS volumes, see Salvaging and Purging Deleted Volumes, Directories, and Files.

11.14.1 Guidelines for Deleted Junctions

  • The NSS volume must be configured for salvage in order for deleted junctions to be available. Enable the Salvage attribute by going to the volume‚Äôs Attributes page (Storage > Volumes > Properties > Attributes), select Salvage, then click OK.

  • Deleted junctions are typically purged according to the Purge Delay settings on the server. When the delay time elapses, the deleted junction is no longer available for salvage.

  • Deleted junctions can be salvaged or purged by any trustee for the file with the Create right. If another user has purged the deleted file, it is no longer available for salvage.

  • If the Purge Immediate attribute is set for a junction, it is immediately and permanently removed from the volume upon deletion.

11.14.2 Salvaging a Deleted Junction

You can salvage a deleted junction and restore it to the directory from which it was deleted.

  1. In iManager, click Files and Folders, then click Deleted File to open the Deleted File page.

  2. On the Deleted File page, use one of the following methods to locate the folder on an NSS volume where the deleted junction existed when it was deleted:

    • Click the Search icon to browse and locate the folder, then click the name link of the folder to select it.

    • Click the History icon to select a folder from the list of folders that you recently accessed.

    The Deleted Files report lists the deleted files in the folder and shows who deleted each file and when it was deleted.

  3. Browse the list of deleted files to locate the deleted junction you want to salvage.

  4. Select the deleted junction, then click Salvage.

    A confirmation message confirms that the junction was successfully saved. The junction and its trustees, trustee rights, and inherited rights filter are restored.

  5. Click Repeat Task to salvage or purge other deleted files, or click OK to dismiss the confirmation message.

11.14.3 Purging Deleted Junctions

You can purge a deleted junction to remove it immediately from the volume. Purged junctions can no longer be salvaged.

  1. In iManager, click Files and Folders, then click Deleted File to open the Deleted File page.

  2. On the Deleted File page, use one of the following methods to locate the folder on an NSS volume where the deleted junction existed when it was deleted:

    • Click the Search icon to browse and locate the folder, then click the name link of the folder to select it.

    • Click the History icon to select a folder from the list of folders that you recently accessed.

    The Deleted Files report lists the deleted files in the folder and shows who deleted each file and when it was deleted.

  3. Browse the list of deleted files to locate the deleted junction you want to purge.

  4. Select one or multiple deleted junctions (or deleted files) that you want to purge, then click Purge.

    A confirmation message confirms that the junction was successfully purged.

  5. Click Repeat Task to salvage or purge other deleted files, or click OK to dismiss the confirmation message.