Novell 主页

Uberfusion

通过使用具有内置 Xen*技术的 SUSE Linux Enterprise Server对其现有服务器环境进行虚拟化, Uberfusion将服务器数量减少了 70%,将能耗需求减少了 40%以上,并且将总拥有成本降低了大约 30%。Uberfusion使用 Novell的 PlateSpin Orchestrate来提高供应新虚拟环境方面的速度与灵活性。

概述

Uberfusion Sdn. Bhd.是一家开设于马来西亚,销售业务遍及亚太地区的跨平台软件开发公司。该公司雇佣有 67名员工,其中大部分从事技术与生产工作,在 .NET、PHP、Java*和 C++技术方面拥有深厚的专业技能。 Uberfusion拥有电信、 FMCG和银行 /金融行业的主要客户。

问题

Uberfusion在一处集中设施里设置了大量物理服务器,用于运行各种 Web服务、应用程序测试环境和数据库服务器。每个服务器一般仅托管一个应用程序或服务,而且在许多情况下资源很大程度上被闲置 —也就是说 Uberfusion在硬件和用电上持续投入的资金没有产生有效的收益。

而另一方面,某些物理服务器却资源不足,造成性能与可靠性问题。在现有机器上的资源被闲置的情况下, Uberfusion仍然在不断地投入资金和人力来建立新的物理服务器。这也对新客户项目的上市时间造成了不利影响。结果

是, Uberfusion的数据中心空间不足,使得需要租赁更多机架空间以及能耗与冷却的月度成本上升的可能性增加,不断增长的基础设施日益成为一个沉重的负担。

解决方案

为了提高基础设施的效率,减少风险、停机时间和成本,并且提高灵活性和缩短上市时间, Uberfusion决定采用服务器虚拟化战略。该公司与 Red Tree Ventures (Novell Gold PartnerSM)一起合作,评估了市场上领先的服务器虚拟化产品。

"具有内置 Xen虚拟化技术的 SUSE Linux Enterprise Server比 VMware*产品更加经济实惠,而且比 Microsoft选项更加成熟、功能更强, "Uberfusion Sdn. Bhd.的首席运营官 Jamie Saw说。

在构建新的虚拟化基础设施时, Uberfusion与 Red Tree Ventures和 Novell马来西亚分公司紧密合作,在七台 HP*刀片服务器上部署具有 Xen技术的 SUSE Linux Enterprise Server,这些服务器均配备有两个四核 Intel* Xeon*处理器。现在这七台刀片服务器上运行了大约 40个虚拟服务器。 Uberfusion实施了 Novell的 PlateSpin Orchestrate来简化并自动化虚拟服务器的开发和管理。

"Red Tree Ventures和 Novell马来西亚分公司都提供了出色的服务,从评估到部署和持续支持的整个流程中都给了我们指导和帮助, "Saw说。"我们立即获得的虚拟化优势就是能够撤除十台比较陈旧的物理服务器,节省能耗、冷却和管理成本。 "

不仅仅是帮助 Uberfusion缩小了其基础设施的物理与经济规模, Novell虚拟化解决方案还使得 Uberfusion能够提高向客户供应新应用程序和服务方面的灵活性与速度。

"一个项目的开发周期完成后,我们就可以很快地取消供应相关的虚拟服务器,对它们进行备份,然后为另一个客户建立起新环境, "Saw说。"使用 PlateSpin Orchestrate管理 SUSE Linux Enterprise Server的虚拟实例使我们获得了灵活性,能够提供比竞争对手更快且更灵活的服务。另外,由于降低了运营成本,我们可以将更多资源投入到为客户提供服务的工作中。 "

结果

作为一家跨平台软件开发公司, Uberfusion需要构建能够同时在 Microsoft* Windows*和 Linux*上运行的应用程序。借助 SUSE Linux Enterprise Server和 Xen虚拟化技术,该公司可以在相同的物理硬件上同时虚拟化和支持 Windows与 Linux产品,从而节省了大量成本。

"我们估计,与运行同等的物理环境相比,虚拟化可以使我们每年节省 30%的总体成本, "Saw说。"其中包括 50%的硬件和软件成本节省,至少 40%的能耗节省,以及大约 30%的管理成本节省。 "

虚拟化技术使 Uberfusion能够将专业员工从耗费时间的服务器部署工作中解放出来,将更多的精力投入到核心开发任务中。 PlateSpin Orchestrate使 Uberfusion在几分钟的时间里就能部署新的开发环境,而不用花上几天甚至几周的时间去购买和部署新物理服务器,最终加快了客户项目的上市时间。

最后,服务器虚拟化减少了 Uberfusion的基础设施中的潜在单点故障,提高了可用性并降低了风险。

"我们的正常运行时间提高了 20%,这得益于我们的虚拟服务器与具有更高组件冗余水平的较大的物理服务器共享资源, "Saw说。"具有内置 Xen虚拟化技术的 SUSE Linux Enterprise Server给我们带来了更高的效率、更大的灵活性和更快的响应速度,并且总拥有成本也降低了。 "

* 必填字段

Read our Privacy Policy.

© 2014 Novell

Novell Home

Uberfusion

By using SUSE Linux Enterprise Server with built-in Xen technology, Uberfusion reduced servers by 70 percent, reduced power requirements by more than 40 percent and cut total cost of ownership by 30 percent.

About Uberfusion

Uberfusion Sdn. Bhd. is a cross-platform software development company based in Malaysia with a sales presence across the Asia-Pacific region. The company employs 67 people, mostly involved in technical and production work, and has deep skills across .NET, PHP, Java and C++. Uberfusion has major clients in the telecommunications, FMCG and banking/finance industries.

Challenge

Uberfusion had a large number of physical servers in a co-located facility, running a variety of Web services, application testing environments and database servers. Each server typically hosted just one application or service, and in many cases the processing resources were largely unused–meaning that much of Uberfusion's ongoing expenditure on hardware and electricity was delivering no useful return.

Equally, some of the physical servers were running out of resources, causing performance and reliability issues. Uberfusion was continually investing money and effort setting up new physical servers–even as resources sat idle on existing machines. This also had a negative impact on time–to-market for new customer projects.

Finally, Uberfusion was running out of room in the data centre, increasing the likelihood that it would need to rent additional rack space, and the monthly costs for powering and cooling its growing infrastructure were becoming a significant burden.

Novell Solution

Aiming to improve the efficiency of its infrastructure, reduce risk, downtime and costs, and increase flexibility and time-to-market, Uberfusion decided to embrace a strategy of server virtualisation. The company worked with Red Tree Ventures, a Novell Gold PartnerSM, to evaluate the market-leading server virtualisation products.

"SUSE® Linux Enterprise Server with built-in Xen virtualisation technology was much more cost-effective than the VMware offering, and more mature and functional than the Microsoft option," said Jamie Saw, Chief Operating Officer, Uberfusion Sdn. Bhd.

Uberfusion worked closely with Red Tree Ventures and Novell Malaysia to build the new virtualised infrastructure, deploying SUSE Linux Enterprise Server with Xen on seven HP blade servers, each with two quad-core Intel Xeon processors. There are now approximately 40 virtual servers running across these seven blades. Uberfusion implemented PlateSpin® Orchestrate from Novell to simplify and automate the deployment and management of its virtual servers.

"Both Red Tree Ventures and Novell Malaysia provided excellent service, walking us through the entire process from evaluation through to deployment and ongoing support," said Saw. "The immediate benefit of virtualisation was that we were able to eliminate ten older physical servers, saving power, cooling and management costs."

Beyond enabling Uberfusion to shrink the physical and economic footprint of its infrastructure, the Novell virtualisation solution enables much greater agility and speed in the provisioning of new applications and services for Uberfusion's customers.

"Once the development lifecycle for a project is complete, we can very quickly de-provision the related virtual servers, back them up, and bring up new environments for different customers," said Saw. "Using PlateSpin Orchestrate to manage virtual instances of SUSE Linux Enterprise Server gives us the agility to offer a faster and more flexible service than our competitors. And because our operational costs are lower, we can focus more resources on delivering services to our customers."

Results

As a cross-platform development company, Uberfusion needs to build applications that will run on both Microsoft Windows and Linux. With SUSE Linux Enterprise Server and Xen virtualisation technology, the company can virtualise and support both Windows and Linux on the same physical hardware, enabling significant cost savings.

"We estimate that server virtualisation provides a 30 percent overall reduction on the annual cost of running the equivalent physical environment," said Saw. "This figure includes a 50 percent decrease in hardware and software costs, a 40 percent or greater decrease in energy requirements, and a reduction of around 30 percent in our administrative costs."

Virtualisation has enabled Uberfusion to free up skilled employees from time-consuming server deployments, enabling greater focus on core development tasks. PlateSpin Orchestrate enables Uberfusion to deploy new development environments in a matter of minutes–versus the days or even weeks required to procure and deploy a new physical server–and this enables faster time-to-market for customer projects.

Finally, server virtualisation has reduced the number of potential single points of failure in Uberfusion's infrastructure, increasing availability and decreasing risk.

"We have seen a 20 percent improvement in uptime, because our virtual servers share the resources of larger physical servers with greater levels of component redundancy," said Saw. "SUSE Linux Enterprise Server with built-in Xen virtualisation technology has given us greater efficiency, flexibility and responsiveness–and a lower total cost of ownership."

Request a Call

Submit a service request

* Required Fields

First Name is a required field
Last Name is a required field
Email is a required field
Company is a required field
Phone is a required field
City is a required field
Country is a required field
Address is a required field
Zip/Postal Code is a required field
State is a required field
Comments is a required field

Read our Privacy Policy.

Request a Call

© 2014 Novell