4.4 Auditing User Synchronization Activity

As your Synchronizer system grows and evolves, you might add a large number of users and groups. As time passes, some users might not need the same synchronization services as when you originally set up your Synchronizer system. You might want to know if there are users in your Synchronizer system who are not currently connecting and synchronizing.

You can check user activity in your Synchronizer system by performing a user audit. You can perform the audit on your entire Synchronizer system or on a specific connector. When you perform a global audit, users are listed based on their most recent activity on any connector. When you perform a connector-specific audit, users are listed based on their most recent activity on that specific connector.

The list includes the following information about each user:

To audit Synchronizer users:

  1. In Synchronizer Web Admin, click Delete icon (Global Audit) to list all users in your Synchronizer system.


    Click a specific connector, then click Audit Users to list all users that have been added to the selected connector.

    The resulting list provides the type (user or group), the distinguished name of each user or group, and application user name for users, and the date and time of the most recent activity for each user.

  2. To save the listed data for use in a spreadsheet:

    1. Click Export CSV.

    2. Select Save File, then click OK.

    3. Browse to and select the directory where you want to save the file.

    4. (Optional) Change the file name as needed.

    5. Click Save to save the audit report in CSV format for use in a spreadsheet program.

Not all user activities on mobile devices are collected as part of the audit. For example, when users send and delete messages, these activities are captured as part of the audit. However, if users only view their mail and calendar items, these more passive activities are not captured as part of the audit. However, you can check to see when a specific user last connected to the Synchronizer system, as described in Managing Mobile Devices (Resynchronize, Delete, Block, Reset) in Synchronization Monitoring and Management in the Mobility Connector Installation and Configuration Guide.