4.4 The Project View

The Designer Project view lists all existing Designer projects. From the Project view, you can quickly find, open, view, navigate, manage, close, and delete any Designer project.

To open the Project view, select the Project tab in the upper left view of Designer, or if the view is not open, click Window > Show View > Project from the main menu.

The Project view provides a standard menu of functions, which are available by right-clicking the Project tab. Similarly, the Project view provides an icon bar with additional functions.

Figure 8-12 shows a typical Project view displaying the icons available in a Designer project.

Figure 4-9 The Project View

Table 8-1 describes the project icons displayed in the Project view.

Table 4-1 Project Icons Displayed in the Project View

Icon Name


Project Name


The name of the created project. It is the name of the project stored in the selected workspace directory. Double-clicking the Project name expands and collapses the entries under the project.

Right-clicking a project name allows you to do the following:

  • Create a new Identity Manager Project.

  • Open the project with the System Model (Modeler view).

  • Import an Identity Manager Project from:

    • An Identity Vault

    • An iManager Export file

    • A file system

    • A version control server

  • Export the project.

  • Refresh the project.

  • Make a copy of the project.

  • Move the project to another workspace.

  • Disable/enable the project. Disabled projects are taken out of the Version Control view.

  • Rename the project.

  • Delete the project.

  • View the project’s properties window.

Projects under a version control server have a different icon and have two additional choices:

  • Check the project into the version control server.

  • Update the project from the version control server.

System Model


Double-clicking the System Model entry puts the project into the Modeler view. You can create or import driver sets, drivers, channels, or policies into the Modeler to modify the project as needed. Then you can deploy the driver set, drivers, channels, or policies into an Identity Manager system.

System Models under a version control server have a different icon .

Right-clicking the System Model allows you to:

  • Open the project in the Modeler view


Use the Designer > Documents folder for documents that are related to the project. You can also create new folders to organize your projects as needed. The Generated folder under Documents holds your generated documentation files, and the images folder under the Generated folder holds any graphic files that are created when you generate documents.

Right-clicking the Documents folder or the Generated folder allows you to:

  • Create a new file.

  • Create a new folder.

  • Import a file or a folder.

  • Export the project.

  • Copy the folder.

  • Paste items into the folder.

  • Refresh the folder’s view.


The Toolbox folder is for special files that ship with Designer. You cannot create new files or folders under this folder. The Styles folder under the Toolbox > DocumentGenerator folder contains the document generation styles. Right-click this folder to create a new style from the context menu that comes up.

Right-clicking the Toolbox folder or its subfolders allows you to:

.docgen File

Right-clicking the .docgen file entry allows you to:

  • Open the .docgen file with a Style editor.

  • Copy and delete the .docgen file. Use Copy and Paste to copy documentation files to different projects or folders.

  • Refresh and rename the file.

  • Generate documentation using this style.

Additional File Types

Because the Generated and Images folders can contain many different files, you can see different icons displayed, depending on the file extension.

Right-clicking these any of these files allows you to:

  • Copy and delete the file. Use Copy and Paste to copy documentation files to different projects or folders.

  • Refresh and rename the file.

  • Open the file or open the file with a text or system Editor. You can also double-click the file and have Designer choose an editor for the file.

  • Delete the file.