B.4 Removing Dynamic File Services

The Remove option in the Dynamic File Services Uninstall tool automatically does the following:

You can separately specify whether you want to also remove all of the files in the Dynamic File Services folder that were created since the install, which includes the pair and policy database files. The files on the primary paths and secondary paths are untouched.

B.4.1 Planning to Uninstall Dynamic File Services

In addition to the requirements in Section B.1, Prerequisites for Modifying, Repairing, or Removing Dynamic File Services Software, ensure that your system meets the uninstall guidelines in this section.

Locating Files on the Two Paths

Before uninstalling Dynamic File Services, you should verify that the primary path and secondary path contain the files that you intend. You can create policies or use the Move Files option on a pair to move the files to their desired final destinations.

Keeping the Pair and Policy Database Configuration Files

If you plan to reinstall Dynamic File Services, you can reuse the existing pair and policy databases if you specify that you want to keep them during the uninstall.

When you uninstall the Dynamic File Services software, you are prompted with an option to Remove all files created by Dynamic File Services. The option is disabled by default. Use the option to achieve either of the following outcomes:

  • Keep Pair and Policy Database Files: To keep the existing pair and policy database files, deselect the Remove all files created by Dynamic File Services check box. You typically retain the files if you plan to reinstall the software.

    The pair and policy database files are not removed from the computer. The files in a pair remain on the two paths.

  • Discard Pair and Policy Database Files: To discard the existing pair and policy database files, select the Remove all files created by Dynamic File Services check box. You typically discard the files if you do not plan to reinstall the software on the computer, or if you plan to create all new pairs and policies after reinstalling the software.

    The two paths in a pair are automatically unlinked, and the pair and policy database files are deleted. The files in a pair remain on the two paths.

    If you reinstall the software, you can create pairs and policies again. If you previously exported a policy, you can also use the Import policy option to add it.

Notifying Users

After you uninstall the software, the merged view of files is no longer available to users. When users access a network share on a primary path, they see only the files on the primary location. The data on a secondary path remains on its disk, but the users can no longer access the files via the share. You should notify the users of the changes you are making to assure them that their files are not lost.

B.4.2 Uninstalling Dynamic File Services

Before you begin an uninstall, ensure that you have prepared the system as described in Section B.4.1, Planning to Uninstall Dynamic File Services.

IMPORTANT:On some Windows platforms, a computer restart is required after the uninstall if you have not stopped the Service and did not exit the Service Controller.

  1. Log in as the Administrator user or as a user with Administrator privileges.

  2. Stop the Dynamic File Service.

    1. Disable the Dynamic File Service as described in Stopping the Dynamic File Service in the Dynamic File Services 2.1 Administration Guide.

    2. Right-click the Service Controller icon in the Windows notification area, and verify that the Service state is Service Disabled.

  3. Stop the Service Controller by right-clicking the Service Controller icon, then selecting Exit.

  4. Select Start > All Programs > Dynamic File Services > Uninstall Dynamic File Services.

    If you are prompted by the Windows User Account Control feature for permission, supply the necessary credentials and confirm. The InstallShield Wizard opens.

  5. Select Remove, then click Next.

  6. In the confirmation dialog box, specify whether you want to Remove all files created by Dynamic File Services. These are files in the Dynamic File Services folder that were created since the install, which includes the pair and policy database files.

    Do one of the following:

    • Deselect the check box to keep the files. This is the default.

    • Select the check box to remove the files.

  7. Click OK to confirm the uninstall.

  8. After the uninstall is complete, click Finish to close the Uninstall tool.

  9. If you are prompted to do so, restart the computer.