Sharing in Filr enables users to grant access to files and folders to other users, either internal or external to the organization. You can enable users to share the following kinds of files and folders:
Files and folders in users’ My Files areas. This includes files and folders in users’ personal storage (if personal storage has been enabled, as described in Section 4.0, Setting Up Personal Storage) and in users’ Home directories.
Sharing of files and folders in the My Files area is enabled by default for all users after sharing is enabled for the site. You can disable sharing for files and folders in the My Files area on an individual user basis.
Files in Net Folders (files in Net Folders are files that are synchronized to Filr from a corporate file system and that are located in thetab in Filr.)
Sharing of files in Net Folders is disabled by default after sharing is enabled for the site. You must enable sharing for each Net Folder and specify which users are allowed to share and what rights they have.
The ability to share folders from Net Folders is not available.
If multiple users share the same item with a single user, the user who receives the share is granted the highest level of access that was shared with the user. For example, if User B shares a file with User A and that grants User A Read rights to the file, then User C shares the same file with User A and grants Read and Write rights to the file, User A has Read and Write rights to the file.
The following sections describe how sharing works in conjunction with Filr rights and file system rights. For more detailed information about how sharing works in Filr, see How Filr Works–Overview Guide.