The following sections describe the default behavior for how user data quotas work after they have been enabled.
Filr users are strictly held to the data quota that you set. If a user who is approaching his or her data quota tries to upload a file to the Filr site and that file exceeds the user’s data quota, Filr rejects the upload attempt and the entry is lost. This is also true with data quotas that are set on folders.
When users exceed the data quota high-water mark, they are notified that they are approaching the data quota. Filr informs them how many kilobytes of disk space are still available.
For more information on selecting an appropriate high-water mark, see Selecting an Appropriate High-Water Mark.
Files stored in Net Folders do not count against data quotas because they are not uploaded into the Filr site.
Folders that do not contain files do not count toward the data quota. Files that are located in Net Folders do not count toward the data quota.