The Novell Filr desktop application allows you to synchronize your Novell Filr files with the file system on your computer and then modify the files without accessing the Filr site directly. Additions and modifications are synchronized between Filr and your computer.
The Novell Filr desktop application is supported for the following versions of the Windows operating system:
Windows XP SP3 32-bit or later
Windows Vista SP2 32-bit or 64-bit or later
Windows 7 SP1 32-bit or 64-bit or later
The Novell Filr desktop application on Mac requires Mac OS X 10.6 64-bit or later.
Following are known issues for the Novell Filr desktop application:
In the Filr Desktop Quick Start in languages other than English, the Quick Start incorrectly states the following, regarding the deletion of folders and files from the Filr desktop application: “Only documents and folders in your My Files folder are deleted on the server. If you delete a document or folder that is not in your My Files folder, it is no longer synchronized to the Filr desktop application, and the files and folders remain on the server.”
Ensure that your users are aware of the correct behavior. Otherwise, if they follow the incorrect statement, it can lead to information being inadvertently deleted from Filr.
The correct information is as follows:
When deleting files and folders from the Filr desktop application, the files and folders are also deleted on the server for all files in Net Folders and in the My Files area. The behavior when a file or folder is deleted in the Shared with Me area is different.
If you delete a file or folder from the Shared with Me area, and that file or folder has been directly shared with you, it is no longer synchronized to the Filr desktop application, and the files and folders remain on the server.
If you delete a file or folder that is a subfolder of a folder that was shared with you, or if the file is located in a folder that was shared with you, the file or folder is deleted, if you have sufficient rights to delete it.
When selecting a location for the Filr folder, you should not configure the Novell Filr desktop application on multiple computers to use the same shared location on the network. This is because the Novell Filr desktop application does not synchronize files properly if two instances are synchronizing to the same shared location, even if the instances are not running simultaneously. Because of this, it is best to always avoid configuring the Filr folder to be on a network drive.
If a file is modified on the Net Folder’s file system outside of Filr, an error might be displayed the next time it is synchronized to your the Filr desktop application, saying that the file has been corrupted. This occurs because the Filr server’s metadata does not match the file on the Net Folder’s file system.
Depending on how your Filr administrator has configured synchronization between Net Folders and Filr, doing one of the following will resolve the issue:
Access the file from the Filr Web client. After accessing the file, the change might be reflected in the Filr desktop application.
Wait for the Filr server to detect the change on the Net Folder file system and update its metadata. The update frequency depends on the Net Folder synchronization schedule, which is configured by your Filr administrator. By default, changes are synchronized every 15 minutes.
When installing the Filr desktop application, the folder where you choose to install the application cannot contain extended characters in the folder name.
When the Filr desktop application is installing, the Windows Desktop background might temporarily revert to the default Windows background. You can safely ignore this issue.
For information on how to install, configure, and use the Novell Filr desktop application on your computer, see the Filr Desktop Application for Windows Quick Start or the Filr Desktop Application for Mac Quick Start.
For information about how to enable or disable the Novell Filr desktop application, as well as perform other administrative functions, see Novell Filr 1.0.1 Administration Guide.
Novell, Inc. makes no representations or warranties with respect to the contents or use of this documentation, and specifically disclaims any express or implied warranties of merchantability or fitness for any particular purpose. Further, Novell, Inc. reserves the right to revise this publication and to make changes to its content, at any time, without obligation to notify any person or entity of such revisions or changes.
Further, Novell, Inc. makes no representations or warranties with respect to any software, and specifically disclaims any express or implied warranties of merchantability or fitness for any particular purpose. Further, Novell, Inc. reserves the right to make changes to any and all parts of Novell software, at any time, without any obligation to notify any person or entity of such changes.
Any products or technical information provided under this Agreement may be subject to U.S. export controls and the trade laws of other countries. You agree to comply with all export control regulations and to obtain any required licenses or classification to export, re-export, or import deliverables. You agree not to export or re-export to entities on the current U.S. export exclusion lists or to any embargoed or terrorist countries as specified in the U.S. export laws. You agree to not use deliverables for prohibited nuclear, missile, or chemical biological weaponry end uses. Please refer to the Novell International Trade Services Web page for more information on exporting Novell software. Novell assumes no responsibility for your failure to obtain any necessary export approvals.
Copyright © 2013 Novell, Inc. All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced, photocopied, stored on a retrieval system, or transmitted without the express written consent of the publisher.
For Novell trademarks, see the Novell Trademark and Service Mark list.
All third-party trademarks are the property of their respective owners.