The following sections describe the default behavior for how user data quotas work after they have been enabled. (For information on how to enable data quotas for your Vibe site, see Section 22.3.1, Enabling Workspace and Folder Data Quotas and Section 22.4.2, Setting User Data Quotas.)
By default, Vibe users are strictly held to the data quota that you set. If a user who is approaching his or her data quota tries to upload a file to the Vibe site and that file exceeds the user’s data quota, Vibe rejects the upload attempt and the entry is lost. This is also true with data quotas that are set on workspaces and folders.
For user data quotas (not for workspace and folder data quotas), you can allow users to post a final entry to the Vibe site even if the entry exceeds the user data quota. This approach is less strict and does not guarantee that users won’t exceed the data quota; however, it is more forgiving because it allows users to post one final upload to the Vibe site and does not erase the entry and attached file that they are trying to upload.
For information on how to configure your Vibe data quotas to be less strict by allowing users one final upload to the Vibe site, see Section 22.5.1, Configuring Data Quotas to Be Less Strict.
When users exceed the data quota high-water mark, they are notified that they are approaching the data quota. Vibe informs them how many kilobytes of disk space are still available.
For more information on selecting an appropriate high-water mark, see Selecting an Appropriate High-Water Mark.
Files stored in mirrored folders do not count against data quotas because they are not uploaded into the Vibe site.