5.7 Advanced Remediation Options

The Advanced Remediation Options page enables you to set patch flags for each remediation. Setting the patch flags for a selected patch is the sixth step in scheduling a deployment for the selected patch. The icons displayed on the page represent the patch flags that can be set for each package.

Figure 5-18 Advanced Remediation Options Page

The following table describes the functionality of each icon on the Advanced Remediation Options page:

Table 5-4 The Advanced Remediation Options Page






Uninstalls the packages.

Force Shutdown

Force Shutdown

Forces all applications to close if the package causes a reboot.

Do Not Back Up

Do Not Back Up

Does not back up files for uninstalling.

Suppress Reboot icon

Suppress Reboot

Prevents the computer from rebooting after installation of the package.

Quite Mode icon

Quiet Mode

Sets the installer to function in quiet mode. Quiet mode suppresses any user interfaces (if a user is logged in) during the remediation.

Unattended Setup icon

Unattended Setup

Installs the packages in the Unattended Setup mode.

List Hot Fixes icon

List Hot Fixes

Returns a list of the hot fixes installed on the target computers.

Force Reboot icon

Force Reboot

Forces the computer to reboot regardless of package requirements.

Reboot is Required icon

Reboot is Required

Indicates that this package requires a reboot prior to completing the installation.

Selecting this option reboots the device even if the specific bundle does not require a reboot.

Chain Packages icon

Chain Packages

Sets the package as chainable (if the package supports chaining).

This option cannot be modified in this release; the package is always installed with the “chain” option.

Suppress Chained Reboot icon

Suppress Chained Reboot

Suppress the reboot, allowing other chained packages to be sent following this package

You should suppress the final reboot for all chained packages, then send a reboot deployment when all packages are finished.

Repair File Permissions icon

Repair File Permissions

Repairs file permissions after package installation.

Download Only icon

Download Only

Distributes the package without running the package installation script.

Suppress Notification icon

Suppress Notification

Suppresses any user notifications during installations.

Debug Mode icon

Debug Mode

Runs the package installation in debug mode.

Do Not Repair Permissions icon

Do Not Repair Permissions

Suppresses the repair of filename permissions after the reboot.

May Reboot icon

May Reboot

Allows the package to force a reboot if required.

Multi-User Mode icon

Multi-User Mode

Performs the installation in Multi-User mode.

Single-User Mode icon

Single-User Mode

Performs the installation in Single-User mode.

Restart Service icon

Restart Service

Restarts the service following the deployment.

Do Not Restart Service icon

Do Not Restart Service

Does not restart the service following the deployment.

Reconfigure icon


Performs the system reconfigure task following the deployment.

Do Not Reconfigure icon

Do Not Reconfigure

Does not perform the system reconfigure task following the deployment.

NOTE: Depending on the type of patch you select, the icons displayed in Table 5-4 change dynamically, so you might not be able to select some of the options described in the table.

Click the Next button to open the Pre Install Notification Options page. Click the Back button to return to the previous page. Click Cancel to exit the wizard.