The following list illustrates possible scenarios in which you might want to unregister and reregister devices:
You have secondary ZENworks Servers set up by job function (engineering, marketing, and so forth), an employee transfers to another job function, and you want to change the ZENworks Server that the device is registered against.
You move a device from one physical location to another and you want to change the device's ZENworks Management Zone or the ZENworks Server that the device is registered against.
You want to balance server load by changing the ZENworks Server that a device is registered against.
In these three scenarios, you could unregister the device and then reregister it in another ZENworks Management Zone or against another ZENworks Server. It is not necessary to remove the device object from the ZENworks Control Center because the updated Management Zone or ZENworks Server information is updated in the object's properties.
You edit a registration key or registration rule to change the naming convention and folder containment settings as explained in Section 12.1.2, Editing Existing Registration Keys and Section 12.2.2, Editing Existing Registration Rules and you want all managed devices named and placed in folders according to the new settings.
In this scenario, only newly registered devices use the new settings. You can unregister devices, remove them from the ZENworks Control Center (click thetab, navigate to and select devices by selecting the check box next to the their names, then click ), and then reregister them to ensure that the devices are renamed and placed in the proper folders according to the edited settings.
You no longer want to manage a device using ZENworks Linux Management.
When you unregister a device, the device is no longer registered against a ZENworks Server and the device is no longer managed.
IMPORTANT:If you delete a device object in the ZENworks Control Center but do not unregister the device, when the device is refreshed according to its schedule or if the user runs the rug refresh command, the device reregisters and a corresponding device object is re-created in the ZENworks Control Center. If you no longer want to manage the device using ZENworks Linux Management, ensure that you unregister the device, as explained below.
When you unregister a device, the ZENworks Agent software remains on the device. You can leave the ZENworks Agent on the device in case you want to reregister it, or you can uninstall the ZENworks Agent. For more information, see Section 6.4, Uninstalling the ZENworks Agent.