12.2 Managing Your Trash

All deleted mail and phone messages, appointments, tasks, documents, and reminder notes are stored in the Trash. Items in the Trash can be viewed, opened, or returned to your Mailbox until the Trash is emptied. (Emptying the Trash removes items in the Trash from the system.)

You can empty your entire Trash, or empty only selected items. Items in the Trash are emptied according to the way your GroupWise administrator specifies, or you can empty the Trash manually. The GroupWise administrator can specify that your Trash is emptied automatically on a regular basis.

12.2.1 Displaying Items in Your Trash

  1. In your Mailbox, click the Trash folder.

You can open, save, and view information on items in the Trash. You can also permanently remove items or return them to the Mailbox. Right-click an item in the Trash to see more options.

12.2.2 Undeleting an Item in Your Trash

The GroupWise Windows client includes an option for automatically emptying the Trash after a specified number of days. If this option has been set, either by you or by the GroupWise administrator, items in the Trash are automatically purged after the specified number of days and you won’t see them in GroupWise WebAccess.

To undelete items from your Trash folder:

  1. Click the Trash folder.

  2. Select the item, then click Undelete at the top of the Item List.


    Double-click the item to open it, then click Undelete.

The undeleted item is placed in the folder from which it was originally deleted. If the original folder no longer exists, the item is placed in your Mailbox.

12.2.3 Saving an Item In Your Trash

You can save items that are in the Trash the same way you would save any other item. For more information, see Section 3.4.1, Saving an Item to Disk.

12.2.4 Emptying the Trash

To empty all the items from the Trash:

  1. In your Mailbox, right-click the Trash folder, then click Empty Trash.

To empty specific items from the Trash:

  1. In your Mailbox, click the Trash folder.

  2. Select one or more items.

  3. Click Purge.