3.1 Upgrading Business Continuity Clustering from 1.0 to 1.1 for NetWare

3.1.1 Upgrading NetWare

NetWare must be upgraded on each BCC cluster server to NetWare 6.5 SP5 or SP6 (same as OES 1 SP2 NetWare). NetWare 6.5 SP5 is the minimum requirement for Business Continuity Clustering 1.1 for NetWare. See Upgrading to OES 1 NetWare in the OES NetWare Installation Guide for more information on upgrading NetWare.

Also, see Section 2.1, Requirements for more information on what is required for Business Continuity Clustering 1.1 for NetWare.

In addition to upgrading NetWare, you must also apply the latest NetWare and Novell Cluster Services patches to the upgraded servers. See the Business Continuity Clustering 1.1 Readme file for instructions on the necessary patches.

Performing a Rolling Cluster Upgrade

Performing a rolling upgrade to NetWare 6.5 SP5 (or to SP6) and applying the latest patches lets you keep your cluster up and running and lets your users continue to access the network while the upgrade is being performed.

During a rolling cluster upgrade, one server is upgraded to NetWare 6.5 SP5 (or to SP6) and the latest patches are applied while the other servers in the cluster continue running a previous support pack of NetWare 6.5. Then another server is upgraded to NetWare 6.5 SP5 (or SP6) with the latest patches, and then another, until all servers in the cluster have been upgraded to NetWare 6.5 SP5 (or SP6) with the latest patches.

After upgrading NetWare and applying the latest patches, reboot the server to automatically load Cluster Services software.

During the upgrade process, cluster pools, volumes, and resources fail over from the server being upgraded to other servers in the cluster. After a cluster server is upgraded and brought back online, the pools, volumes, and resources that failed over to other servers during the upgrade process fail back to the upgraded server.

3.1.2 Installing or Upgrading Identity Manager

You must upgrade to or install Identity Manager 2 Bundle Edition on one cluster server in each of the Novell Cluster Services clusters of your BCC. If you are upgrading to Identity Manager on a BCC server where DirXML® is installed, see Upgrading and Common Installation Scenarios in the Identity Manager 2.0.1 Administration Guide.

If you are installing Identity Manager 2 Bundle Edition, see Installing and Configuring Identity Manager.

3.1.3 Installing Business Continuity Clustering 1.1

After upgrading NetWare and Identity Manager, you must install Business Continuity Clustering 1.1 on all cluster nodes that will be part of your BCC. See Section 2.2, Installing Novell Business Continuity Clustering Software for information on installing Business Continuity Clustering 1.1.

The Business Continuity Clustering 1.1 installation program automatically detects if Business Continuity Clustering 1.0 is installed and performs the necessary updates to convert 1.0 to 1.1. This includes searching eDirectory™ for SAN scripts and updating those scripts to be SMI-S compliant.

3.1.4 Resetting BCC Administrator User Credentials

The BCC Administrator user credentials that were set for Business Continuity Clustering 1.0 do not work with Business Continuity Clustering 1.1. A fully distinguished eDirectory name (FDN) was required for Business Continuity Clustering 1.0, but Business Continuity Clustering 1.1 requires only the BCC administrator name. For instructions on resetting BCC Administrator user credentials, see Section 2.5.2, Changing Cluster Peer Credentials.

3.1.5 Authorizing the BCC Administrator User

The BCC Administrator user must be a trustee of the Cluster objects in your BCC, and have at least read and write rights to the all attributes rights property.

  1. Start your Internet browser and enter the URL for iManager.

    The URL is http://server_ip_address/nps/iManager.html. Replace server_ip_address with the IP address or DNS name of the server that has iManager and the Identity Manager preconfigured templates for iManager installed.

  2. Specify your username and password, specify the tree where you want to log in, then click Login.

  3. In the left column, click Rights, then click the Modify Trustees link.

  4. Specify the Cluster object name, or browse and select it, then click OK.

  5. If the BCC Administrator user is not listed as a trustee, click the Add Trustee button, browse and select the User object, then click OK.

  6. Click Assigned Rights for the BCC Administrator user, then ensure that the Read and Write check boxes are selected for the All Attributes Rights property.

  7. Click Done to save your changes.

  8. Repeat Step 3 through Step 7 for the other Cluster objects in your BCC.

3.1.6 Verifying SAN Scripts

The Business Continuity Clustering 1.1 installation program searches for and updates any SAN scripts that you created for Business Continuity Clustering 1.0. The updates are performed to make the SAN scripts SMI-S compliant. You should check all SAN scripts after installing Business Continuity Clustering 1.1 to ensure that they will perform the desired functions.

3.1.7 Deleting and Re-Creating the BCC-Specific Identity Manager Drivers

After completing the upgrade procedures in the above sections you must delete the BCC-specific Identity Manager drivers that were created when you installed and configured Business Continuity Clustering 1.0. This includes the cluster synchronization drivers, and if you configured User object synchronization, the User object synchronization driver. You must then re-create those drivers in order for them to work with Business Continuity Clustering 1.1. See Section 2.4.1, Configuring Identity Manager Drivers for the Business Continuity Cluster.

During a BCC upgrade, Business Continuity Clustering 1.0 clusters are unable to communicate with Business Continuity Clustering 1.1 clusters. This condition exists temporarily until the upgrade has been completed. If an actual disaster were to occur during the upgrade, a Business Continuity Clustering 1.0 cluster can be failed over to a Business Continuity Clustering 1.1 cluster.